HISTORY OF PERRY COUNTY
SURNAMES BEGINNING WITH "S"
SAFFELL, MARY R., farmer's wife, Pike township, Lexington, Ohio; was born November 22, 1818, in Frederick county, Maryland; daughter of Thomas H. and Melinda (Harrison) Miller. Mrs. Saffell was raised a farmer's daughter and has lived on a farm all her life. Her father brought her with the rest of his family to this State in an early day, when there yet remained a few Indians, to be seen occasionally. She was married January 11, 1838, to Samuel, son of Amos and Mary (Lemon) Saffell, who died and left her a widow. Mrs. Saffell has lived in this county since her marriage, and is now living on the Josiah Grimes farm, that she is having farmed at this date. She has seventeen children by her only marriage, as follows: Mary J., Martha, Rhoda, Jehu, Louisa, Caroline, Reuben, Harriet Ann, William Horace, Charlotte M., (with twin sister, who died in infancy), James C., Samuel H., Silas A. and Rebecca E., are living, and Reuben, Jno. Thomas and Velinda C. are dead. Mrs. Saffell's father, Thomas H. Mills, is now living with her, and is ninety-four years of age, and one of the oldest residents in the county SALTSMAN, MARIA, Pike township, New Lexington, Ohio; was born January 26, 1832, in Somerset, this county; was married in 1851, to Andrew Saltsman, of Jefferson county, Ohio. They are the parents of two children,who are living, Charles Wesley and Nancy Jane. Mrs. Saltsman has always been a citizen of her native county, and has lived in New Lexington, Ohio, for the last ten years of her life, and lived on a farm during her married life previous to her going to this city. Her husband enlisted in the three years service during the late Rebellion, and died in the hospital of typhoid fever in 1864. Her son enlisted some nine years ago, from whom she has not heard up to the present
time. By economy she now enjoys a pleasant home of her own on Railroad street, where she now lives with her daughter and son-in-law. Few can boast of so much patriotism of their family as can Mrs. Saltsman, all of her support having been given that could be offered by her. SANDERS, BENJAMIN, farmer, Monroe township. Hemlock, Ohio; was born January 5, 1823, in Columbiana county, Ohio; son of Jesse and Epsie (Batton) Sanders. He was brought up on a farm and followed agricultural pursuits until he was twenty-three or twenty-four years of age, when he went to Ringold, Morgan county, Oho, and engaged in the mercantile business, in which he remained about five years. Mr. Sander's father brought him to this county when he was about seven year's of age, and bought forty acres, and entered eighty acres of land at the same time, but sold out in about six months afterward and went to Morgan county, Ohio; after remaining in Morgan county about eighteen months he returned to this county, and again took possession of the same farm because of the man who purchased it being unable to meet the payments. After returning he made this his home as long as he lived, and increased his possessions to five hundred acres of land, a part of which is now owned by his son, Benjamin, who lived with him until he went to Morgan county, Ohio, where he went into the mercantile business. Sold out in Morgan county in 1831, and returned to this county, buying a part of his father's farm; engaged in agriculture and stock dealing, for about twenty years. He then bought the grist mill at Sulphur Springs and moved it to Hemlock. Has been the manager of a store in Hemlock for the past four years, which he owns. Has also been postmaster in Hemlock for the past five years. He now owns about three hundred acres in Saltlick and Monroe townships, and formerly owned about five hundred acres, selling part of the same to the Ohio Central Coal Company, that Buckingham is now built upon and where shaft No. 19 is now being operated. He was married to Susanna (Wood) Smith, of Belmont county, Ohio, who was a resident of this county at the time other marriage. They are the parents of nine living children, viz.: William M., C. T., Spencer S., Sarah, Emeline, Elma, Almeda, Viola and Etta, and three dead, Epsie, Cynthia and Louvina Alice. SANDERS, THOMAS M., proprietor of dry goods and family grocery store, near depot, New Lexington, Ohio. Mr. Sanders was born February 28, 1835, in Pike township; son of John and Mary (Fealty) Sanders, natives of Pennsylvania. Thomas M. was brought up on a farm, but followed various occupations. He railroaded in Wisconsin and Minnesota, being employed in the latter State when she repudiated her railroad bonds. Mr. Sanders began his present business in 1873, at Rehoboth where he remained about four and one-half years, after which he came to his present location, where he is doing a good business. SANDERS, WILLIAM MILES, merchant. Hemlock, Ohio; was born, February 25, 1843, in Perry county, Ohio; son of Benjamin and Susannah (Smith) Sanders. Was brought up on a farm, and followed agricultural pursuits until 1861, when he enlisted in Company C, Seventeenth Regiment, O. V. I.; served his term of enlistment in Virginia, and was honorably discharged at Zanesville, Ohio. He then re-enlisted in Company D, Thirty-first Regiment, O. V. I., for three years or
during the war, and served until September, 1862, when he enlisted at Nashville, Tennessee, in Company M, U. S.. Cavalry, for three years, from which service he was discharged at San Antonia, Texas, December 18, 1865. While in O. V. I., he was engaged in the following battles: Mill Springs, Siege of Corinth, Perryville, Shepherdsville, Cage's Ford, battle of Stone River. While he was in the cavalry service, he was in the following engagements: Chickamauga,and was on Sherman's march to the sea; and fell back to Nashville, and was in the battle between Hood and Thomas; and in Wilson's famous cavalry raid. His regiment captured Andersonville, took Wertz, the commander, prisoner; was captured April 18, and was held a prisoner at Libby for six days, when he was paroled, and in about one month rejoined his company, with which he remained until he was discharged, excepting one month, when he was put on detached duty as escort for General Corse, to carry dispatches from Nashville, Tennessee, to a point three hundred miles up Red River. Upon his discharge from the service, he returned home and remained four weeks, when he went to New Pittsburg, Indiana, where he was married, August 31, 1866, to Miss Elizabeth A., daughter of Allen Fowler. They are the parents of four children, viz.: Spencer E., Martin L., Rasilla V., and Benjamin A., all born in Clark county, Iowa. In the fall of 1866, he went to Clark county, Iowa, where he purchased a farm, upon which he lived until 1877, when he went to Johnson county, Nebraska. In the following year he again moved to Rush County, Kansas, remaining until January, 1880, and returned by wagon to St. Louis, Missouri; then by boat to Cincinnati, from where he drove home in a wagon to the old homestead, reaching his destination August, 1880. In the following September he purchased his present store. Mr. Sanders was the Greenback candidate of this county, in the fall of 1881, for Representative. SANDERS, SPENCER SMITH, miller, Saltlick township; post office, Hemlock, Ohio; was born March 18, 1847, in Monroe township, this county; son of Benjamin and Susannah (Smith) Sanders. Mr. Sanders was brought up on a farm, and followed agricultural pursuits until about four years ago, when he took charge of the Hemlock mill, to which he has given his attention up to this time. In the fall of 1864, Mr. Sanders enlisted in Company G, Twenty-fifth Regiment, O. V. I., for one year,, and was in the battle of Honey Hill, where he received a flesh wound in the arm, which disabled him for three months, when he was in general hospital. Upon his recovery he rejoined his regiment, served out his time and was discharged, by reason of expiration of term of enlistment, when he returned home and engaged in, farming, until as above stated. He has served his township as trustee about four years. Mr. Sanders was married August 29, 1867, to Victoria, daughter of Reuben and Hester Ann (Cannon) Primrose, of this township formerly, but was a resident of Nelsonville, Athens county, Ohio, at the time of her marriage, where she was living with her brother, Isaac P. Primrose. They are the parents of five children, viz.: Anna Laura, Franklin Geddis, Edwin L., Olive Clyde, and Mattie M. SANSOM, R. C., post master, Shawnee, Ohio; was born December 21, 1837, in Tredegar, Wales; son of Richard and Elizabeth (Woods) Sansom. Mr. Sansom emigrated to America with his parents in 1840,
who first settled in Montreal, Canada, where they abode some three years, when they came to the United States of America, settling near Cumberland, Alleghany county, Maryland, living at this place until about 1857. At this time he went to Piedmont, Hampshire county, West Virginia, where he learned the machinist's trade, serving three years; and where he was at the time of the breaking out of the Rebellion, when he enlisted with the Eleventh Regiment, Indiana V. I., and served during the three months' service, for which he received no pay; and afterward enlisted with the Second Regiment, Maryland V. I., for the term of three years, and served two or three months over his time, in the armies of the Potomac and West Virginia, at which time he received an honorable discharge and returned home. During this service he was once wounded at Snickers Gap, but which left no permanent injury. Yet he contracted a disease, which has since proven to be varicose veins of the limbs, and it so much disables him, that he is now unable to do much of any kind of business. He enlisted as a private, and was discharged as first lieutenant. Upon receiving his discharge, he returned home, and soon after he moved to Bedford county, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in farming, for about three years, and then moved to Clearfield county, Pennsylvania, and was engaged as clerk in a coal company's store, and as weighmaster for about two years and six months. At this time he came to Shawnee, Ohio, and employed as weighmaster and shipping clerk for the Shawnee Valley Coal and Iron Company, from 1873 to 1881, when he was appointed postmaster at this place. Was married June 5, 1867, to Mary E., daughter of Samuel and Lucinda (Harden) Close. They are the parents of six children, viz.: Samuel R. P., Elizabeth H., deceased; George T., Ida M., Charles W., and John T. SAWYER, CHARLES H., tonsorial artist. Corning, Ohio; was born December 24, 1836, in Gillford county, North Carolina; son of William and Merina (Mitchell) Sawyer. Charles H. was brought up on the farm until fourteen years of age, when he went to his trade; and has worked at it in most of the principal cities of Indiana and Ohio, also in the city of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He came to his present location in May, 1880. Mr. Sawyer was married November 25, 1857, to Miss Eva C., daughter of William and Mary (Ludington) Townsend, of Oxford, Butler county, Ohio. They are the parents of three children, viz.: Ida B., Calvin, deceased, and Dora L. SAWYER, E. OGDEN, M. D., Corning, Ohio; was born November 29, 1851, in Cincinnati, Ohio; son of Joseph O., and Mary Elizabeth (Stephens) Sawyer. The doctor was brought up in St. Louis, Missouri, until the age of fourteen, after which time he resided in Cincinnati and Columbus, Ohio. He began the study of medicine April 1, 1878, with Dr. Halderman of Columbus, Ohio, and was graduated at Starling Medical College, at Columbus, Ohio, in the spring of 1880. Practiced first in Richmond, Indiana. Came to this place, January 2, 1882. Dr. Sawyer was married April 28, 1880, to Sarah R. Hall, M. D., of Salem, Columbiana county, Ohio. She is a graduate of the Friends' Seminary at Mt. Pleasant, Ohio; also attended two courses of lectures at the Woman's Medical College at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and is at present physician at the Girls' Industrial Home at Delaware, Ohio.
SCALLON, THOMAS, born 1821, in Washington, D.C., where his father, James, and his mother, Mary Scallon, arrived in 1819, from Wexford county, Ireland. His mother was a daughter of Patrick Redmond, and the sister of George Redmond, former Treasurer of Perry county, and of John Redmond, for many years a Justice of the Peace in Muskingum county. Her sisters are Bridget and Ann, now the wife of George Brehm, and Catharine, the deceased wife of the late venerable Miles Cluney; and Peggy, widow of the late John Dittoe. The children of Mrs. Scallon are Thomas and Mrs. Mary Ann Echenrode, late of this county, and the mother of Thomas and Mary Echenrode, her only children. Thomas Scallon was married in 1843, to Miss Mary, daughter of John Dittoe. His children are: Mary; James, a plasterer by trade, post office, Lancaster; Rev. Thomas, a Dominican priest at St. Joseph's; Helen, a nun of St. Francis De Sales, Newark, Ohio, and known there as sister Genevieve; Miss Anna, and George, post office, Somerset, Ohio. Thomas Scallon came to Perry county in 1829, when only eight years of age, and has resided on the same farm over fifty years, occupying the ancestral acres of his father, James Scallon, who deceased seven years after his settlement thereon, in sight of Somerset. He has improved the old homestead with excellent buildings; served for many years as township assessor, several times performing all the work himself; so that faithfulness in office and to his duties as a private citizen, are among the virtues unanimously accorded to him. SCHNEIDER, LOUIS, Bearfield township; post office, Portersville, Ohio. He is a farmer now, and followed merchandising thirteen years at Portersville. He was born in Baden, Germany, in 1825; son of Francis P. and Mary (Euhert) Schneider. He emigrated to this country in 1854; located at Portersville; stayed in his brother's store the first winter, and then he went into business for himself. Mr. Schneider now owns four hundred and ninety-six acres of land, being one of the wealthiest and most successful farmers in the township. In 1855, he married Mary C. Reimond, of Deavertown. They are the parents of the following named children: William F., Annie L., deceased; Frank J., Leo L., George Otto, and Charles Reimond. His wife died in 1872. He married Ellen Cunningham, of Muskingum county, in 1873. They have one child, Michael A. SCOTT, MARTIN F., merchant; born in Ohio county, West Virginia, in 1812. Son of Mathew Scott, born in Kilkenney; and Elizabeth Lacy Scott, born in Wicklow county, Ireland; came to this country in 1800. His father was an officer in the English Army, and was present at the trial of Robert Emmett, an incident of his life to which he ever after referred to with emotions of sorrow. He began mercantile life in Baltimore, Maryland, and about the year 1808, removed to Wheeling, West Virginia, bought a farm on the Ohio side of the river, but resided on the Virginia side, where Martin was born. This careful, cautious, honest and successful man was bred to the mercantile life, which he yet pursues in his old age. He came to Somerset in 1838, after the death of his mother in 1837, intending to go to New Orleans. He changed his course to Iowa, intending to purchase land, and turn his occupation to that of a farmer. In the Des Moines valley he called at a house; a woman with a child in her arms responded. He inquired of
her if there was any land to enter in this beautiful part of the State. "Are you one of those land grabbers ?" was the greeting. " What does that mean, madam ? " "One of those speculators who buy large tracts here and prevent the settlement of the country." "No," said Mr. Scott, "I intend settling here if I buy." And then, eyeing the woman more closely, he said, "your name was Johnson and I sold you your wedding dress." "Then your name is Martin Scott," exclaimed the lady, as she rushed forward to welcome him. He selected a section of land. Nothing but gold and silver and Missouri bank notes would be received at the land office; scores of buyers were there waiting for the sales to open. Plowing around one acre and laying down four logs made a squatter's claim, and many made these claims, sold out and then moved on. The land sales were postponed, and Mr. Scott says, "That act of Van Buren's administration turned my feet back to Somerset, and he shall have the blame or the honor of my being here." While yet a lad he was sent from Belmont county to St. Joseph's in Perry county, to learn his catechism, the distance being over one hundred miles, and the road from Somerset to the church, a path cut through the woods. He was united in marriage with Cecelia Dittoe, daughter of Peter Dittoe, of Mt. Harrison, May 3, 1842. Their children are, viz.: Albert, bred to the law, and who died at his father's residence, June 5, 1880, leaving a widow and a son, Albert, both now in Washington. D. C.; Thomas, commercial traveler, single; Lewis, married, residence Chi-wa-hua-hua, Mexico, (pronounced Che-wah-wah), merchant, banker and miner; Philip, clerk, at home, single. The daughters are, Mary, Lizzie and Dora, all single and at home. The family has had excellent opportunities for education, and all his sons exhibit commendable traits of business. SCOTT, JOHN W., collier, Shawnee, Ohio; was born April 13, 1860, in Caxhoe, county of Durham, England; son of George and Isabel (Richison) Scott. Mr. Scott was raised in his native county, and remained there until he was nineteen years of age, when he emigrated to America, landing in New York October 3, 1879, and came direct to Shawnee, where he mined eight or nine months, when he went to Straitsville, and mined about one year, and from thence to Floodwood, remaining a short time, after which he went to Rendville, where he has been employed up to the present time, and is now engaged at Beard's shaft. His parents still live in Crook, county Durham, England. SECRIST, ALEXANDER, engineer, Shawnee, Ohio; was born July 12, 1845, at Bloom Furnace, Lawrence county, Ohio; son of George and Mary Jane (Woodruff) Secrist; was brought up about a furnace, and has made furnace work the business of his life. At the age of nine years, he ran an engine at the old Jackson Furnace, Jackson county, Ohio, where he was engaged for five years. At this time he enlisted in Company I, Fifth Regiment Virginia Volunteer Infantry, as fife Major, remaining three years, and was taken prisoner between Winchester and Bunker Hill, and was taken to Currantstown, above Winchester and confined in an old mill, where he remained about six days, when he slipped out of a hole, caused by some siding being broken off, un- observed by the guard, and went down under the water-wheel, where he remained until ten o'clock at night, when he passed out of the camp,
climbing over some of the sleeping enemy and traveling till near morning, when he hid under some hay in a barn. The enemy took hay from the same mow that day, but did not discover him. The next night he went to a house to get something to eat, when he discovered two Rebel officers inside; he beat a hasty retreat and hid under a straw stack until the next night, and for four days he only had blackberries and roasted corn to eat. Upon again traveling, he reached North Mountain, and wandered night after night, often coming to camps and shunning them until he reached the Union lines. The first meal he got to eat, after getting away from the mill, was given to him by a negro woman who came to milk near a straw stack where he was hidden. When he reached North Mountain a bushwhacker showed him the way across the mountain, where he was captured by the Union forces, suspected as a Rebel, and imprisoned at Cumberland for some length of time, when he was sent to Harper's Ferry, where he remained until a part of his company was brought there to receive their discharge, and, as he was looking out of the prison window, he was recognized by his old comrades, identified, and discharged with them. Returning home, he located at Jackson, in 1866, and has since ran an engine at Jackson, Bessimer and Shawnee, where he now remains. Mr. Secrist was married May 2, 1872, to Miss Mary Ann, daughter of Felix and Rebecca (Jones) Nash. They are the parents of three children, viz.: Edward D., Harry Clay, deceased, and a infant not named. SECRIST, WILLIAM, engineer; Shawnee, Ohio; was born January 10, 1854, in Jackson county, Ohio; son of George and Mary Jane (Woodruff) Secrist; was brought up in the county of his nativity, where he remained to the age of twenty years. While a youth he learned the trade of engineering, at first engaging with George Hoop, at Jackson, running a grist mill engine eighteen months, and then to Orange Furnace, in same town, running the engine for three years. Since having learned his trade, he has been engaged in the following places; In Lawrence county, Ohio, at Olive Furnace, running engine one year; Iron Valley Furnace, Vinton county, Ohio, dug ore and ran engine eighteen months; Hocking county, Ohio, mined coal five or six months; New Plymouth, Vinton county, Ohio, running portable sawmill engine, one year; Gore furnace, Hocking county, blacksmithing and running engine about three years; in Straitsville, as furnace top filler, three months, and in this place, at Fannie Furnace, since, running engine for about three years past, in turn with his brother. He was married October 11, 1874, to Eliza, daughter of Jonathan and Mary Jane (Decker) Moody. They are the parents of four children, viz.: Charles M., Minnie May, George A., and an infant not named. SELBY, THOMAS, farmer, Pike township, P. O. New Lexington, Ohio; was born November 12, 1804, in Anne Arundel county, Maryland; son Eli and Ruth (Shipley) Selby. Mr. Selby was raised a farmer, but learned the blacksmith trade with Jacob Knowls, of Somerset, Perry county, Ohio, serving four years as an apprentice, which business he followed for thirty years, turning by forge many an ax, long before the introduction of the patent ax. Mr. Selby was united in marriage with Julia A., daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Ankney) Wright, February 10, 1831. They are the parents of the following children, viz.: John
N., Eli M., Jeremiah B., Joshua F., Eliza Ann, Margaret M., Harriet L., Alpheus B., William Cook, and three dying in infancy. Mr. Selby came to Perry county in March, 1814, with his father, who settled in Pike township, entering three quarter-sections of land, the same that is now owned by Thomas, the subject of this sketch, and his heirs, who own six hundred acres of land. When the settlement was made, bears and wolves were plenty, and the land a desolate wilderness. In 1843, Mr. Selby supplanted his log cabin by a fine, large brick mansion, which he now lives in. He has been a successful and an enterprising business man, raising at one time the best sheep that were ever raised in Perry county, one that sheared thirty-three pounds of wool at one clipping. He now, in his old age, takes delight in raising thoroughbred cattle, and at one time owned a calf ninety-five days old, that weighs three hundred and eighty-five pounds, gaining a little over three pounds per day. SELBY, S. F., farmer and stock dealer; post office, New Lexington, Ohio; born in Pike township, Perry county, in 1837; son of Thomas and Julia A. (Wright) Selby; grandson of Eli and Ruth (Shipley) Selby, and Thomas, and Margaret (Ankney) Wright. He was married in 1873, to Miss Elizabeth Koots, daughter of Ephriam and Eliza (McKeever) Koots. SELLERS, H. P., farmer, and breeder of thoroughbred Atwood sheep, registered in Vermont Atwood Club. Post office, New Lexington; Clayton township. Perry county, Ohio; born in Perry county in 1842; son of Jacob and Julia E. (Reem) Sellers, grandson of John and Margaret (McMullen) Sellers. Married June 29, 1870, to Miss Harriet Roberts, daughter of H. H. and Carrie Roberts. They have four children, viz.: Stilla L., Herbert C., W. L. A., and Whitfield. SHEARER, SAMUEL, was born in 1815, on the farm where he now resides, the place never having been out of the Shearer ownership. It lies in sight of Somerset, and the land maintains a reasonable state of fertility. At the age of nineteen he went to work at the carpenter trade, and in the winter worked at cabinet making, and from there on to the age of forty-five years pursued this occupation exclusively. At the age of forty-two he changed his bachelor life by his marriage to Sarah A. Brandt, whose maiden name was Sarah A. Cann, and who was the mother of one son, named James Brandt, at the date of her second marriage. The children by this marriage are, Emma E., Mary C., Laura T., Sallie E., all of whom are living except the first named. He was never clamorous for the eight hour law when working at his trade---he worked from sun to sun. When working by the month his wages, after his apprenticeship, ranged from eighteen to twenty-four dollars. He was counted a superior workman, and the Moeller corner, now the Brown corner, in Somerset, stands a witness to the skill which took the wood from the stump and fashioned it therein. After his marriage he worked on his farm and occasionally at his trade; the demand for his services often withdrawing him from the farm. His cutting box costing $6, dispensed with the old rake and knife and cuts by hand, utilizing an old scythe for a knife, and one man, in a single hour, can easily cut enough hay or fodder to feed three cows for a week. He feeds his beeves on chopped feed, and a sorrel mare, now thirty years
old, looks and acts so much as if hardly half this age, as to testify to the value of a good and cheap cutting box on the barn. and to the kindness. and humanity of her owner. This celebrated animal will not even now, bear a whip, or allow angry, loud words to be spoken to her. Mr. Shearer is an honest, honorable citizen, who prefers to speak well of others or remain silent. His life and successful management is a beautiful eulogy upon the sphere he fills in society and the institutions of his country. From early years, in consequence of sickness, his hearing is impaired, but not so much as to exclude him from social and conversational enjoyment. He is a firm friend of education for usefulness, and all his children have enjoyed, or are enjoying, the blessings of domestic and literary training. SHEARER, JOHN H., was born in Perry county, Ohio, in the year 1816, and though trained to life on the farm to the age of nineteen, he has, since 1836, devoted his life to the business of printing and publishing newspapers, comprising a period of forty-six years, and thus establishing his claim to being the oldest printer and editor now living in Ohio. He is a son of Daniel Shearer, who emigrated to Ohio as early as the year 1805. His mother's maiden name was Martha Miller, who dates the citizenship of her father in Ohio back to 1806. In 1836 John Shearer began learning his trade as a printer in the Western Post office in Somerset, with McAfee as proprietor. In 1839, having completed his apprenticeship, he became half owner with that gentleman, who, in nine months after, sold his half to Alexander Miller, and again, in 1841, A. T. M. Filler bought the interest of Miller, which he held until 1844. Mr. Shearer then bought out Filler's half and became sole proprietor, and so ran the office until 1846, when he rented the establishment to J. W. Shirley for three years. In 1849 Mr. Shearer resumed sole control and changed the name to the Somerset Post. In 1855 he sold out to Mr. E. S. Colborn, and the Post became merged with Mr. Colborn's paper, and both took the name of the Perry County American. In 1857 the office passed back to Mr. Shearer, and its name was changed to Somerset Review. About this time Mr. Shearer became involved as surety for Ottoe H. Miller and others, and sold out the Review to Judge R. F. Hickman. All the accumulations of the previous twenty years of his young and vigorous manhood were swept away, together with real estate, that cost him $2,800, sacrificed at $800 to pay bail debts. It was a terrible blow, but not to his faith in God or his hope of ultimate recovery. In August, 1858, broken in heart and fortune, he visited Marysville, Ohio, and bargained for the Tribune office, by which he bound himself to pay $500 within a year, balance when he could, and in October of the same year took possession, and, after the removal of his family, found only $9 left in his pocket-book to start his business and face a strange community. Luck, backed with unflagging energy and the favor of friends, enabled him to pay $900 on the contract, when his old creditors began to grow clamorous. He informed the late lion. C. S. Hamilton of the situation, as he had done at the beginning. This gentleman (afterwards killed by an insane son) replied: "Stop paying me, and pay your Perry county creditors." These were noble words, uttered from a noble heart. John Shearer pulled through, paid all claims against him, and became sole owner of the Marysville Tribune,
which is valued at $10,000, being the best equipped county office in Ohio, and which, added to his real estate and other assets, at a reasonable estimate, allows him $27,000 for the last twenty years service, and turns the frowns of 1857 and the sacrifices of 1858 into the smiles and sunshine of life's afternoon. The first twenty-three years of his printer's life were ended by the destruction, of his fortune, and the last twenty- three have not only recovered all that was lost by the first, but added a hundred-fold, and, in the evening of his days, assigned him to the front rank as a successful printer and editor, and command his history to be preserved in the annals of his native county, and his example to cheer all those overtaken by financial reverses. He was first married to Miss Matilda Ream, who died in 1865, leaving one son, Willie O. Shearer, and one daughter, Lorietta, now the widow of Dr. A. F. Zeigler, Columbus, Ohio. The second marriage was in 1868, to Mrs. J. A. Johnson, of Delaware county, Ohio, who died in 1881, leaving one son, John H. Shearer, Jr., now twelve years of age. SHEERAN, THOMAS, cutter in Peter Duffey's merchant tailoring room, New Lexington, Ohio; born January 6, 1852, in Pike township; son of James and Mary (Sharkey) Sheeran. Young Sheeran was brought up on a farm, where he remained until about fifteen years old, when he learned the plasterer's trade, and followed it about five years, then, in company with his brother Frank, established a merchant tailoring store at Athens, Ohio, where they remained about one year. He then learned his present trade. Came to this place about the year 1867. He engaged in his present position in 1878. Mr. Sheeran was married January 1, 1878, to Miss Margaret E., daughter of Anthony and Ellen (Greene) Daugherty. They are the parents of three children, viz.: Frank, deceased; Mary, and Margaret Ellen. SHEERN, PIUS, farmer, post office, New Lexington, Pike township, Perry county, Ohio; was born March 15, 1848, in this township; son of James and Mary (Shirkey) Sheern. Was raised a farmer, and followed agricultural pursuits until 1863, in December of which year he enlisted in the army, in Company D, 30th O. V. I., for three years, or during the war, and served until June 5, 1865, when he was discharged by reason of the close of the war. Was engaged in the following battles: Dallas, Georgia; Kenesaw Mountain, Georgia; Nicojack Creek, Georgia; Atlanta, Georgia; Jonesborough, Georgia; Savannah, Georgia; charge of Fort McAllister, Georgia, under General Hayes, and Waynesburg, North Carolina. After being discharged he returned home and engaged in farming until 1874, when he went to Colorado, and where, in 1875, he enlisted in the regular army for five years, and served three years and four months, being discharged at his own request. The hazardous task of carrying a dispatch from Bluff Creek to Camp Supply on the frontier became urgent, and as an inducement for some one to volunteer, the officer agreed that, to the man who would carry it, should be granted any request he might make upon his return. Mr. Sheeren performed the feat, and upon his return asked for his discharge, which was granted. During this service he waited upon Col. Lewis at the time he was wounded, who was Colonel commanding the 19th United States Infantry. Was engaged in the battle of Sand Hill, Kansas. Upon going to Colorado he prospected for gold and silver for
and again engaged in farming, which he has followed up to this time. Was married September 23, 1879, to Ellen, daughter of Edward and Biddie Maloy, of this township. They are the parents of one child, Henry. SHERIDAN, JOHN L., was born in Somerset April 2, 1837, and is one of the three surviving sons of John and Mary Miner Sheridan. He was admitted to the bar in 1866, and the same year united in marriage to Miss Katharine Gallin, a daughter of the late venerable and lamented James Gallin, and sister of Mr. John Gallin, now in active and successful business in Somerset. He visited Texas and Mexico, immediately after his marriage, and beheld the setting sun of Maxamilian on the west and the rising sun of Reconstructed Union on the east of the Rio Grande. He served as register of the land office at Fairplay, Colorado. Was one of the speakers sent by the Republican State committee of Ohio, in 1868; Republican candidate for State Senator in the district composed of Perry and Muskingum counties, and is now employed at Fort Supply, Indian Territory, returning home frequently to visit his family, consisting now of his mother, wife and two daughters. His homeward visits include a call at Chicago, where his brothers. General Philip Sheridan and Colonel M. V. Sheridan have their headquarters. Eminently social, and sometimes even convivial, the conversational powers of John L., make him the centre of social life, and no son of Somerset is more heartily welcomed to her precincts by his friends and acquaintances. SHERIDAN, GEN. PHILIP H., was born in Somerset, March 6, 1831. His parents were Irish, and had recently emigrated from county Cavan, in the northern part of their native land. They were members of the strong Roman Catholic community that had settled in this vicinity, and young Phil was reared in this faith at St. Joseph's Church. He secured a fair common school education, and having within him the promise of better things than the life of an ordinary villager, he obtained a clerkship in the hardware store of Mr. Talbot, the best position open to an aspiring youth in a small town. He proved energetic, faithful and intelligent, and his leisure moments were occupied with the study of mathematic and history, under the kind tutilage of his employer. A better position with another storekeeper, Henry Dittoe, was offered him and accepted, but the gifted youth aspired to something better than selling goods behind the counter of a village store, and faithfully continued his studies. A vacancy existed at West Point in the cadetship of this district, and Gen. Thomas Ritchey, then Congressman from Perry county, received many applications for the position, supported by numerous recommendations and, testimonials. He finally received a simple, straightforward letter, asking that the place be given the writer, signed by Phil Sheridan. The Representative knew the sturdy lad and gave him the appointment. Phil was seventeen years old when he bade farewell to his companions and friends at Somerset and entered West Point. He graduated with the class of 1853 in his twenty-third year, and was assigned to duty in that year as Brevet Second Lieutenant on the frontier of Texas. Until 1861 he served in that State and in Oregon,
except a short time when he was in the East as recruiting officer. When the great civil strife opened, Lieutenant Sheridan, with the impetuous eagerness of a young officer, was anxious for the fray, but was quite modest in his expectations of promotion. The goal of his ambition he confides to a friend: "Who knows," he writes, "perhaps I may have a chance to earn a Major's commission."From Oregon he was transferred to Jefferson Barracks, Missouri, but the duties to which he was assigned were civil rather than military in their character, and though not conforming to his ardent wishes, were performed with faithfulness and zeal. He audited the claims arising from the operations of the army in Missouri, and was then sent to Wisconsin to buy horses. In May, 1862. he was made Colonel of the Second Michigan Cavalry. His first engagement at Booneville with a greatly superior force under Gen. Chalmers, in July, 1862, foreshadowed in its brilliant success his future renown as a military leader, and won for him a commission of Brigadier-General of volunteers. A volume would scarcely be sufficient to contain his record during the war. His brilliant and rapid career and rise to the front rank of the nation's few great chieftains have lifted him without the narrow limits of Perry county and made him one of the favorite and honored sons of the whole country. His history and gallant achievements in the service of his country are as familiar to the citizens of California and Maine as to the people of his own county and State. At Perryville and at Stone River his vigor and dash was strikingly displayed; his rank as Major-General of Volunteers dates from this latter battle. At Chickamauga, Mission Ridge, and other engagements, too numerous even to mention, his wonderful capacity was repeatedly revealed, and "Little Phil Sheridan" had gained the plaudits of his countrymen, and among the soldiers bore the reputation of a capital fighter. It was not till towards the close of the war that his greatest success was attained. In March, 1864, he was appointed Commander of the Cavalry Corps of the Army of the Potomac, and in this capacity his military genius shone and made him the greatest Cavalry General in the war. During the twelve months following, he swept the valley of Virginia, capturing within that period more than two hundred battle flags, one hundred and seventy field pieces in open fight, and war munitions and public property of all kinds captured and destroyed to the value of more than $3,000,000. His command fought seventy- six battles in eleven months. In August, 1864, he was placed in command of the Army of Shenandoah, a position in which his skill in handling troops, the combination of caution and audacity, the celerity of movement and fertility of resource which he possessed, had ample field for exercise. The crowning achievement of his career was at Cedar Creek. He had been called to Washington, October 13, 1864, to a military consultation. The enemy, under Longstreet and Early, had arranged to mass their forces and make a desperate effort to crush his command. They stealthily approached and fell suddenly upon his army, which, after a strong resistance, fell back and was in full retreat when met by their commander on his return from the capital. His famous ride from Winchester has been immortalized by a distinguished poet. Meeting his disorganized and fleeing troops, he realized the disastrous situation at a glance. To the first fugitives he exclaimed, "Face the
other way, boys; face the other way ! We are going to lick them out of their boots!" His presence restored the confidence of his wearied men, and inspired them with an enthusiasm to renew the conflict. Hastily reforming the shattered lines, he buried them against the advancing foe and won the most glorious victory of the war. The effect on the whole army of the East was such, that in sight of Richmond General Grant ordered a salute of one hundred guns in honor of the event. A vacancy just then occurring, Sheridan was commissioned Major- General of the Regular Army, the highest military rank then within the power of the government to bestow. Subsequently General Sheridan was transferred to the Southwest, where order and quiet followed all his movements, and later to the Western frontier. When General Grant was elected President, and Lieutenant-General Sherman succeeded him as General, this latter rank fell to Sheridan. In physique he is deep- chested, short and stout, and his appearance on horseback is most striking. "Dashing Phil Sheridan," as he was known, is no less popular with his men and officers than in society. He was married in 1875. SHERMAN, D. H., farmer, born in 1843, in Licking county, Ohio, post office Thornville; son of John Sherman, who came to Perry county when his only child, David H., was six years of age. His grandfather, Eli Sherman, died in Licking county, Ohio. His great grandfather was Joel Sherman, native of Connecticut, who lost his life at the hands of the savage while hunting cows on the border, near Marietta. His great grandfather, Joel, sleeps in peace in the Marietta cemetery. The grandmother of David H. was Peggy Findlay, and his great grand mother, the widow of him killed by Indians, lived to be near one hundred years of age. She married a Mr. Shoeman after the death of Sherman. The mother of David H. Sherman was Elizabeth Hooper daughter of Rev. James Hooper, of the Methodist Episcopal Church. She is a grand daughter of Jacob Hooper, who came to Ohio early. Rev. James Hooper was a soldier in the War of 1812. His brothers were Philip, Samuel, Rev. Jacob, Ezekiel and John Hooper. The brothers of Mrs. Sherman (the mother of David H. were Jacob, William and David; sisters, Elsa Ortman, Fanny Wise man and Mary J. Dunaway. Her mother, the wife of Rev. James Hooper, was Polly Swayzie, and her grandmother's maiden name was Elsie Milligan. She and her husband are still living in comfort, an D. H., their only child does the farm work of the homestead, though he owns a farm of his own adjoining it. This son was in the 126th Regiment. He became the husband of Miss Clara Cooper, daughter of John, of Thorn township. Her mother was Ruth Eliza Price, daughter of the venerable Thomas Price, of Hopewell now in his ninety-first year. Her grandmother was Sarah Freeman, The father of Thomas Price fought on the British side, but deserted and fought on the side of liberty, and tradition says by so doing forfeited not only his life but a large fortune in England. His life was spared. He became separated from his brother, Alexander, for many years; by accident they were restored to each other, the accident being this: In 1812, Rebecca Hite, of Zanesville, Ohio, took care of a soldier, sick with measles. This soldier spoke of one Alexander Price, who, it happened, was an uncle of Mrs. Hite,
and the lost was found. A good act is never thrown away. This woman's kindness to a strange sick soldier was rewarded. D. A. Sherman and wife have the following named children: William, John, Arthur, Alice, Sarah and Ruth---three sons and three daughters. To school these children, Mr. Sherman erected a school house on his own land and carved a part of the school district out of Fairfield and a part out of Perry county. This was a feat in diplomacy no ordinary mind would even undertake, much less accomplish, in Ohio. He is a Democrat, central committee man of his township, and a very thorough man of affairs---quiet, but very thoughtful. SHEELER, JERRY, assistant foundryman, Shawnee, Ohio; was born May 27, 1827, in Green county, Kentucky, son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Canon) Sheeler. Was brought up on a farm and followed agricultural pursuits to the age of twenty-one years, when he engaged as keeper of the Bellfont furnace, same county, which position he held for three years, when he took charge of the farm belonging to this furnace, together with its steamboat landing on the Ohio River, and held that position some twelve or fifteen years. From here he went to Ashland furnace, in Ashland, Greenup, now Boyd county, Kentucky, where he kept furnace for seven years, with the exceptions of four months he spent at Nelson furnace, Indiana; then to Ironton, Ohio, where he was keeper of furnace for five months, at same time assisting the foundryman. From there he came to Shawnee, Ohio. At first he engaged at Fannie furnace as foundryman for three months; and was there four months on repairs, directly after which he employed with the XX as assistant foundry man, which position he now holds and has been incumbent of for sixteen months. Mr. Sheeler was married June 29, 1849, to Mary, daughter of John and Rachel Beason, of Fayette county, Pennsylvania. They are the parents of two children, viz.: Jacob and John. Mrs. Sheeler departed this life June 11, 1854. Mr. Sheeler was enlisted in the army in September, 1864, serving ten months, and was engaged in the battle between Hood and Thomas, at Nashville, Tennessee. Was mustered out of service in August, 1865; was enlisted in Company H, twenty-sixth Kentucky Regiment, first brigade second division, twenty-third army corps under Generals Scofield and Thomas. Mr. Sheeler was again married February 2, 1856, to Mary Ann, daughter of Aaron and Millie Pickerel, of Greenup county, Kentucky. They are the parents of nine children, viz.: Elizabeth, Maggie, Lucy, Edward, Fannie, Henry, Franklin, Minnie and Katie. SHELLY, D. C., was born in Hopewell township, Perry county, 1817; reared here, and was never out of the State but once, and then on a visit to relatives in the State of Indiana. He is a successful farmer by occupation, but exerts a mechanical genius in wood, iron and stone, having done the chief part of his own building. His father was George Shelly, son of George Shelly, Senior, who came to Hopewell township in 1814. D. C.'s father was single then, but soon after was married to Miss Margaret Cooperider, who had eleven brothers, and Mrs. Shelly alleges that "each brother had a sister," which is true, for the reason that she was the only daughter. D. C. Shelly had two brothers, John, deceased in Indiana, and George, post office Glenford.
He had also two sisters, Margaret, wife of George Deffenbaugh, post office Thornville, and Elizabeth, wife of Simon P. Swinehart. His mother died in her sixty-first, and his father in his seventy-seventh year. D. C. Shelly was married in 1841, to Katharine, daughter of Peter and Mary Mechling. He began his married life on his father's homestead, and, as he became able, bought out the heirs in the Mechling homestead, subject to the dower of his mother-in-law, Mary Mechling, until 1850, when he removed to it. Their only two living children are Elvena, wife of Amos Albert, post office Chalfant's, and Jefferson, married to Louisa, daughter of Jacob Cooperider. One daughter, Emily is deceased. These kind hearted people also tenderly reared and educated three orphan children, John Baichley and Alfred Mechling, both of whom became teachers, and Elkana Boyer. The grandchildren of D. C. and Katharine Shelly (the children of Jefferson and Louisa Shelly), are Emmit, Dennis, Harvey, Nettie May, George and Frank. Daniel C. Shelly is among the foremost in agricultural pursuits, his farm comprising one hundred and seventy-two acres, on part of which the town of Glenford is built. His an old time Lutheran in religion, a Democrat in politics, and firm adherent to whatever he regard's as the right. SCHENK, WILLIAM HENRY, M. D., Thornville, born 1824, in Fauquier county, Virginia; is a son of John D., and his mother's maiden name was Miss Gillian Lloyd. His grandfather, Michael, was also a native of Virginia, but his great ancestor, the father of Michael Schenk, was a native of Germany. The grandfather of Doctor Schenk, on his mother's side, was George Emory Lloyd, who came with his son-in-law, John D. Schenk, the father of the doctor, to Ohio in 1834. Grandfather Lloyd made his home in the Schenk family, near Etna, Licking county, until his death, at the age of ninety-five. He was a Revolutionary soldier, and Doctor Schenk has often heard him relate the experience and trials of those times. The "bare foot" story, he said, was no fiction. He had often taken the place of ill clad soldier on sentinel, to keep him from suffering. He kept a diary and was tempted to print it, but was as often tempted to abandon it. A work on arithmetic was nearly ready for the press, but this, too, was allowed to go by default. He made his own almanacs, and often amused himself with women who did not like their age to be known, by asking them to tell him the day of the week, and the day of what month they were born. Having thus entraped them, he would laugh and say, "now I know your age exactly," and they would, with equal merriment, chide his supposed presumption, until he felt himself forced to vindicate the science of numbers and tell them their age with such accuracy as to astonish them beyond description. This veteran soldier and arithmetician was a Virginian of modern fortune, and while living there, owned a few slaves, and after coming to Ohio, persisted in his pro-slavery views. He voted for Washington and for every President down to Zachariah Taylor, in 1848. John D., the father of Doctor Schenk, lived to his eighty-seventh year, and remained a spry old man to that time. The brothers of Doctor Schenk are George Emry, post office Fairfield, Illinois; Michael A., post office Outville, Ohio; Theodrick L., Newburg, Arkansas. His sisters are Valeria, wife of Howland White, post office
Cardington, Ohio; Frances G., wife of Myron Bates, Outville, Ohio. Doctor W. H. Schenk read medicine and graduated at Cleveland in 1852, in which year he located in Thornville, where he has now been in practice for thirty years. In 1854 he married Miss Melinda, daughter of the late venerable Adam Bogenwright, of Thorn, who lived to the remarkable age of one hundred years. Doctor Schenk's children were six in all, but one died in infancy. The survivors are Valeria K., wife of Charles Wilson, Thornville; Miss Francis G., Miss Lilian L. and George Emry Schenk, a dry goods clerk, and Charles E. at home. SHEPPERD.T. J., merchant, Moxahala, of the firm of Shepperd and Pile. The same firm also own a store at Rendville. Mr. Shepperd was born in 1840, in Pleasant township, near Oakfield; went to Wisconsin in 1858, returned in 1861, enlisted in the Thirtieth Ohio Volunteer Infantry; remained in that regiment all through the service, four years. Hugh Ewing was his Colonel; Theodore Jones, Lieutenant-Colonel, but Jones was subsequently made Colonel when Ewing was promoted. He was in the battles of South Mountain, Antietem, Atlanta, Mission Ridge, Vicksburg; went with Sherman to the sea, and came out of the war having received but a couple of slight wounds. In 1868 he married Annie E. Fowler, of Pleasant township, and she died in 1877. She became the mother of two children, Addie M. and James W. In 1878 he married Parthena Ayers, daughter of Thomas Ayers, of this township. They have one child, Annie E., born in 1879. SHEPPERD, GEORGE W., farmer. Pleasant township, Moxahala post office; son of Absalom Barney and Sarah (Snelling) Shepperd; his grand father, Nathanial Shepperd, was born in Baltimore county, Maryland, his great-grandfather was a native of England. His mother's ancestry was English and Welsh. His father came from Maryland to Muskingum county, and from there to this township in 1831, and entered the farm where he now resides. In November, 1859, he married Rebecca M. Brown, of Pike township, who was of Irish descent. Their children are Hester B., Cora and David E. March 9, 1871, he married Adaline McArtor, of Monroe township, who is of English and Scotch descent. Their children are, Alice J..William B., Charles S. and two who died in infancy. SHOUGH, P. A., deceased; born at Harpers Ferry, Virginia, in 1824; died in Somerset, Ohio, in 1881. He married Sophia Price, in Virginia. and soon removed to Franklin county, Pennsylvania, where he pursued his trade, tailoring, and where were born, William, single; George, married, painter; Lizzie, single; Jacob, merchant tailor, married; Joseph, plasterer, married; Newton, clerk, single, and McClure, clerk, single. In 1860, P. H. Shough became messenger in the State Department under Governor Curtain, of Pennsylvania; moved to Somerset in 1870; was an Odd Fellow, and at his death his widow drew $l,000 from the Insurance of the Order. SHRIDER, LEVI, farmer, carpenter and generally ingenious; born in 1831 in Reading township; son of Peter Shrider, a stalwart man still living, six feet and two inches in his stocking feet. Levi resides on section 20, northeast one-fourth, patented 1805, signed by the great Thomas Jefferson, President of the United States; and the southwest one-fourth,
1808, in the name of Andrew Hite, father of Samuel, Isaac and John Hite. This farm contains a renowned spring, strong enough to fill a tile eight inches in diameter; was used to run a wheel for churning butter, for mill purposes, the early resort of hunters, a short distance below which was a deer lick. A horse mill and still-house were also erected by "Uncle Sammy Hite." Indian graves were not far distant, but now these ancient forms are departed. A pear tree grown from the seed, now thirty inches over the stump, is still in bearing vigor, a few rods from the big spring, and perhaps on a level twelve feet above it. A wood pile was placed surrounding it and the chips and rotten dirt had accumulated around it to the depth of two feet or more, when removed by Shrider fourteen years ago. This removal exposed some of the roots and he was compelled to erect a frame of wood around it and fill this frame with muck from the woods. The tree recovered its former vigor and yields as high as thirty to forty bushels of pears in one season. It has not missed bearing for the last fourteen years, and tradition says it never did fail, and the same tradition makes Samuel Hite the first settler of Thorn, and Solomon Whitmer the first white male child born in Perry or in that territory which now composes it. Levi Shrider was first married April 4, 1855, to Caroline, daughter of John Auspach, of Reading township. By this marriage he became the father of six children, five of whom are now living, to-wit: William H., a blacksmith, in Thornville, Ohio; Samuel C., a farmer; David E., John P., post office of all, Thornville; and Levi C., post office, Somerset. The second marriage took place to Miss Sarah, daughter of Joseph Orr, in 1868. The children of this marriage are, Oswell, Estella, Lewis H., Daisy S. and Murray Frederick, now three years old. He followed wagon making until competition of machinery drove him to carpentering and to farming. He has produced fine work in the cabinet line, and the pulpit of the Lutheran Church in New Reading attests his skill. He built his own dwelling and barn, and these are among the most respectable in beauty and convenience. His judgment of land and real estate was complimented by his fellow citizens, by election as land appraiser over a very popular opponent of the same party. He owns one hundred acres of the best land with the best of improvements in Thorn township, and when he bought it, in 1868, he went into debt $3,000. The fact that he has paid out and erected buildings on the land worth $3,000 more, not only assert the fertility of the soil, but the best order of financial ability and skill is a farmer. SHRIVER, WILLIAM I., Treasurer of Perry county; post office, New Lexington. SIMONS, A. P., mine boss, New Straitsville, Ohio; was born April 9, 1853, in Washington county, Ohio; son of Meigs and Eliza (Hocking) Simons; was raised a farmer and continued on the farm until his twentieth year, when he went to mining in this place, and was engaged at that and laying track until December, 1881, when he took his present position with the Straitsville Coal Company. Mr. Simon's great grand- father came from Vermont to Marietta with a colony and lived in the fort at that place, and was wounded by the Indians while living there, and they were obliged to guard their grain fields from incursions by the
red men. After the Indians were driven back, he entered land upon the Muskingum River, in Washington county, Ohio, where he lived until his death. His grandfather, Hosea Simons, came into possession of the home farm and lived there until he raised his family, when he moved into Iowa, where he lived until about 1872, when, he departed this life. His father remained in Washington county until his death, which occurred February 18, 1859, in his thirty-second year. His mother was born and raised in Maryland, and came to Ohio with her parents in 1847, who settled in Washington county, where she lived at the time of her marriage. Her father lived with his son until his death in November, 1860, and was in his eightieth year. Her mother lived to be ninety- eight years of age, and died in October, 1878. Mrs. Simons afterward married, January 29, 1854, Mr. John Hammond, of Virginia, and with her family moved in that State, where they lived until the spring of 1866, when they went to Michigan, remaining one year, and then went into Missouri, living in Ralls county one year, and Audrain county from that time until 1881, owning two different farms in this county, one in the south and one in the northern part of said county, owning them at different times. While in the northern part of this county, Mr. Hammond came to his death, October 1, 1871, at the age of sixty years. Mr. Simons, the subject of this, sketch, returned to Ohio in 1872, and his mother, Mrs. Hammond, in 1881. Mr. Simons was married February 6, 1877, to Sarah Holt, born August 24, 1855, in Harrison county, West Virginia, daughter of William and Catharine, (Gray) Holt. They became the parents of one child, viz.: Arthur. Mrs. Simons died August 2, 1880. Mrs. Hammond and all of her living children are now together in the same house in this place. SIMS, P. R., weighman, Straitsville Coal Company, New Straitsville, Ohio. He was born at Eagleport, Muskingum county, Ohio; is of German parentage; a son of Absalom and Christenia (Hartman) Sims. In 1855 they removed to Cambridge, Guernsey county, Ohio, where P. R. Sims remained with his parents until the breaking out of the Rebellion in 1861. His father, at that time, was fifty-nine years old, and after several ineffectual attempts to enlist, dyed his bearde and hair, and succeeded. His enlistment was followed by his sons Simon, John, Isaac, William and P. R., the last enlisting in the spring of 1862 for three years. He remained the entire time, doing good service, and receiving two slight wounds, one at Stone River, and one at the charge of Mission Ridge, Chattanooga, Tennessee. His Company was A, of the Ninety-seventh O. V. I. During the term of enlistment, Mr. Sims participated in twenty-one general engagements, his last being the battle of Franklin, Tennessee, one of the severest fought battles of the war; Wood's entire army was brought to bear on thirteen thousand men, who eventually came off victorious, killing three to one of the enemy. His father was killed in the battle of Stone River, Tennessee. His Company was B, of the Fifteenth Regiment, O. V. I. His brother William, a member of Company A, Twenty-second Battery, was killed at the battle of Cumberland Gap. His brother, Isaac, a member of Company H, Forty-fifth Illinois Regiment, was killed in the forlorn hope charge on the blown up redoubt. His brother, Simeon, a member of Company B, Fifteenth Regiment, O. V. I., was killed at the battle of Mission
Ridge. His brother, John, a member of Company B, Fifteenth Regiment, O. V. I., was wounded at Munfordville, Kentucky, and discharged, leaving P. R. the last of six members from one family. In consequence of the sacrifice made by this family, P. R. was offered a discharge, but declined, preferring to remain and avenge the deaths of his father and brothers, and aid in putting down the wicked rebellion, which had caused him and his mother such losses. While in the service, in 1863, P. R. received a commission as Sergeant of Company A, Ninety-seventh Regiment, given for meritorious and gallant conduct, signed by Colonel Milton Barnes, Colonel J. Q. Lane, and Adjutant Joseph Gossuch, and was always afterwards known as the "boy sergeant." He was only fifteen years of age when he enlisted, and made one of the most gallant records achieved in the late war. After the close, P. R. returned home, and remained home with his widowed mother, until 1867, when he enlisted in the regular army, and was sent to San Francisco, California, where he was assigned to Company A, Ninth U. S. I., detailed to the mail service on the route on the Bay of San Francisco. The steamer "General McPherson" was plying from the city to Angels Island, thence to Alcatrag (bird) Island, thence to Presictio, Black Point, Fort Point, Goat Island and return. P. R. remained in this service about six months, when an accident occurred, which literally tore off the steamer to the water's edge, wounding several officers and the Captain, Jones. Several of the officer's ladies were aboard the steamer at the time. Nearly every man left the steamer but P. R. and O. H. Gardner, of Lake Village, New Hampshire, who cared for the wounded and ladies until rescue came. For this bravery, they were both rewarded. Gardner was detailed to the city as Sergeant of the Recruiting Department, and Sims as Clerk in the Medical Director's office, Department of California. He remained here until within five months of the expiration of his term, when, on request, he was transferred to New San Diego, Lower California, in the Quarter- master's Department, under Captain Cragie. His term expired May 16, 1870, when he returned to Cambridge, Ohio, to fill an engagement with Minnie Urban, of that place, to whom he was married September 2d. Her father, Gudlib Urban, was born in Leipsic, Germany; her mother, Catharine (Miller) in Bavaria. They settled in Guernsey county about 1858. After his marriage, Mr. Sims removed to New Straitsville, where he now resides, being in the employ of the Straitsville Coal Company, as weighman, a position he has filled almost since coming here. SINES, JOHN, mine boss. Corning, Ohio; was born February 16, 1837, in Guernsey county, Ohio; son of Absalom and Christena (Hartman) Sines. John's first experience in mining was at Black Rock, Muskingum county, Ohio, where he went into the mines at six years of age and remained there until thirteen, when he went to Simmons Creek and worked in a stone quarry eighteen months. Subsequently he mined at Zanesville, Cambridge, Nelsonville and Straitsville, Ohio. He came to his present location in 1880. Mr. Sines was married January 1, 1856, to Miss Hulda J., daughter of Alexander and Catharine (Hartman) Teal, of Guernsey county, Ohio. They are the parents of seven children and one adopted child, viz.: Leonard D., John A., Annie, Flora
C., Laura C., Herbert, deceased, Etta Dale and Frederick, adopted. Mr. Sines has given close attention to mining and is now one of the most experienced miners in Perry county. SKINNER, AMOS, farmer, Bearfield township, Portersville post office; born in Virginia, May 25, 1802; son of Peter and Sarah (Roberts) Skinner; father of French, and mother of English descent. He emigrated to Ohio in 1835 and settled in Madison township, this county, lived there a little over a year, and resided one year in Clayton township before he moved to the farm where he now resides. In 1825, he married Margaret A. Murrey, of Virginia, daughter of Thomas Murrey. They are the parents of the following named children: Ferdinand F., married to Elizabeth Hearing. He is deceased. Thomas P., married to Julia A. Whiley, and resides in Kansas; Amos A., deceased; Mary E.; Sarah M., married George W. Murris, resides in this township; Adaline V., married Ezekiel Rose; John R. married Harriet Breece, and resides in Kansas; Julia A., who married Lyman Lamb. He is deceased; Rebecca H., married William Ells of this township; Elmyra W., married James E. Breece, of this township. SKINNER, T. P., farmer and stock raiser, post office Buckeye Cottage, Clayton township. Perry county. Ohio; born in this county in 1834; son of Lemuel and Lucinda (Birch) Skinner. Grandson of Peter and Sarah (Roberts) Skinner. Mr. Skinner was married in 1860 to Miss Harriet Brown, daughter of Isaac and Ellinor (Chinoth) Brown. They are the parents of nine children, viz.: Ernest B., Charles E., Frank N., William E., Lester R., deceased, Beverly O., Lucy E., Homer B. and Anna M. SKINNER, P. H., Rendville, Perry county, Ohio, was born January 5, 1852, in Monroe township, Perry county, Ohio; son of John and Mary (Smith) Skinner. At the age of two years his father died leaving him, his mother and another brother. They lived on a farm in Union township, Morgan county, Ohio, and he and his brother James, two years older, attended the district school until he became of age. In 1878 he attended school at New Lexington and taught his first school in Chapel Hill, which profession he has followed ever since. Was married January 14, 1881, to Miss Mary Donahoe and located in Rendville in 1881, where he taught a subscription school, and on May 29, 1882, was elected Justice of the Peace, to fill the vacancy occasioned by the death of George Thompson. SMITH, MAJOR THOMAS J., provision grocer, east side of Main street. New Lexington, Ohio. Major Smith was born, March 16, 1846, in this place; son of James and Eliza Smith. In March, 1862, he enlisted in Company G., Sixty-first O. V. I., and veteraned in March, 1864. The second week after his return from the war he entered school and attended about seven months. In April, 1866, established his present business, in which he has been successful. Major Smith was married February 22, 1870, to Miss Madglin, daughter of John and Catharine (Shorr) Fox. They are the parents of three children, viz.: Mary Frances, Thomas J. and Catharine. SMITH, JOHN D., merchant, Shawnee, Ohio, was born December 29, 1846, in Limerick, Ireland; son of David and Ellen (Burke) Smith. Mr. Smith was raised a mechanic and emigrated to America about the
age of nine years with his mother, a brother and a sister, settling in Dunkirk, New York. His father died while he was yet quite young and for a few years he was obliged to face the storms of life, but he had the courage to tell his mother that he could provide for himself and assist her. He was first employed upon a steamboat plying on Lake Erie from Dunkirk to Toledo, Cleveland, Detroit and Buffalo, where he remained nine months, and then went to Pennsylvania "to strike oil," but not being successful, he was employed in a brick yard at three dollars per day, in the fall of 1865, remaining during the brick making season of that year, when he returned to Corry, New York, and was employed at the A. & G. W. railroad shops. After remaining with them in the yards for some time, he learned upholstering with them and remained in this place until the fall of 1866, when the shops were moved to Franklin Mills, Portage county, now known as Kent, and where he remained until 1868; at this time he became a journeyman, went to Pitts- burgh, failed to get employment and there became a peddler, continuing three months, From Pittsburgh he went to Steubenville, Ohio, and was employed with Thomas Denmead, master mechanic of the P. C. & St. L. R'y, remaining until the next spring, when he was sent to Dennison, Ohio, where he stayed until fall and returned to Steubenville, upholstering until 1870, and was then sent to Lancaster, Ohio, to take charge of the upholstering department of the C. & M. V. R'y shops in that place, from where he went, in 1872, to the diamond fields of Africa. In April of 1872 he received a letter from a Mr. Stickney, a former shop mate of that place, asking him how he would like to go on an adventure to Africa, when he replied, "I'm your Moses," and on April 27, left Lancaster to join him with a Mr. Hall, of Zanesville. This party, on May 3, left for New York and passed over the Alleghanies at night, losing sight of the horse shoe bend, thinking they had lost a great piece of natural scenery, but it could not vie with what came in their way afterward, in the form of mountains. Arrived at New York May 4, where they took the steamer Angeline, of the Anchor Line, for Glasgow, Scotland, where they arrived May 21. A few days previous to their arrival, President Grant had made a demand on the British Government for the Alabama Indemnity, which gave them some trouble to get through the Kingdom. They remained in this city, Glasgow, two days, visiting the Cathedral and other places of note. From here they went to Melrose on the Tweed, where they visited Sir Walter Scott's residence, Dryburg and Abbey, where this noted bard of romance sleeps his last sleep; also, other places of interest. The next day they arrived at Carlisle and stayed one night, and thence to London, the greatest city of the world, arriving May 29, and the next day booked for South America on the steamer Norseman, and sailed from Southampton, June 10, having remained here for rest and recuperation, as they had been wonderfully sea sick from New York to Glasgow, sailing with high winds and rough sea. The first evening out from Southampton they again were all sick and all the way across the Bay of Biscay and until they reached Madeira Island on Sunday, June 18, which they all hailed with gladness after eight days sailing in bad weather. Smith says it is the most beautiful place in the world. Funchal City is the capital, and here they remained until seven o'clock
P. M., visiting churches and objects of interest. The island is so very steep that sledges are the only mode of conveyance, many of which are models of convenience and beauty, drawn by oxen. At eight o'clock they weighed anchor in good spirits from indulgence in wine cellars. The next sight of land was the Canary Islands and the peak of Teneriffe; from Teneriffe they sailed seventeen days to the Island of St. Helena, where they dropped anchor in Jamestown Bay and landed on July 4. Here they went up Main street, a shabby affair too, where they found the Consul building, where all the foreign consuls were to be found, each one represented by the flag of his country, which in one common breeze floated aloft, and all are equal. Among them there were nine Americans, who, when they came to the Stars and Stripes, dropped their hats and gave three cheers for the Emblem of Liberty. They were W. C. Stickney, of Steubenville, Ohio; Ed. Hall, of Zanesville, Ohio. William A. Walsh and W. H. Wiley, of Richmond, Virginia; John Osborne, of Montana, Territory; William Battenhouse, of New York City, and the subject of this sketch. Next they visited the former residence and the tomb of Napoleon, the First, where they were permitted to pluck a few geranium leaves in remembrance of the great warrior, and drank refreshing draughts from the very spring that once quenched the thirst of the sleeping warrior, whose deeds of valor has served the arm of many a soldier since. To this place from Jamestown it was six miles, but they returned ready to continue the voyage at about sun set from the mountainous journey. At eight o'clock they were again sailing, this time for the cape. Their visit at this place was on July 4, and having asked the cabin privilege of Captain Coxwell, they, the Americans, had pre-arranged to celebrate it by a dinner. This project met with some difficulty upon a British steamer, as the English aboard opposed it and began to ridicule America and its celebration of that memorable day. They would sing "Rule Britannia" and other songs. At length the Americans armed themselves, being determined not to be thwarted by such opposition, and then warned the British that if it was necessary it would come to the worst. At this the British kept mute. Just previous to serving the meal, a Flag Lieutenant of Rear Admiral Campbell, who was bound for the cape, looked into the cabin and espied that the Stars and Stripes was above the Union Jack in the display arranged, and raised objection, complained to Captain Coxwell, that as he was carrying English mail it should not be permitted and to save trouble, by the Captain's request, they changed the arrangement and hung all the ensigns on a line in equal height. Supper was served and a good time was enjoyed with three invited guests, officers of the steamer. The next day a draft of resolutions were drawn, thanking the Captain for his kindness, which were handed him. On July 13, they landed at Capetown. The first land seen upon its approach was Table Mountain, a distance of one hundred and eighty miles away. The mountain stands 4,600 feet above the sea. The voyage was made in thirty-three days and a half. Upon landing they found business brisk and the streets filled with groups of Kaffirs, Malays, Hindoos, half breeds, etc., many of whom were drunk on Cape Smoke whisky. The first night came on and they slept upon the vessel and the next morning arose at four o'clock to witness one of the grandest of sunrises, which
they often saw, even in more grandeur than that, during their four years stay in Africa. Notwithstanding the beauty, mentioned, the barren waste of Africa, for four long years left nothing to be remembered with pleasure, only the monotony of a waste desert and Karroo remains. The reflections of home and the fertile soil of America kept a spirit of hope alive in the breast of again, through the kindness of Providence, enjoying its scenery and dying amidst its luxuries. On July 19, they started for the diamond fields; traveled by rail eighty miles to Wellington, arriving at noon. This is near Bains Kloof, or mountain. After dinner they took stage and at sun set they reached the summit of the mountain. Took a supper at Constable, a poor substitute for American luxuries. Constable is a relay station. There were now thirteen passengers for the diamond fields. Horses were changed every three or four hours. Traveled for six consecutive days by stage, by way of Buffalo Rivers, passing river beds every mile or two, but only two had any water, those of the Orange and Moder. Next they reached Worcester at twelve o'clock at night. July 24, they reached Victoria West; here they slept five hours, having only two hour's sleep previous to that since they started for the fields. At this place they saw the first ostriches in Africa. The next place was Queenstown, one of the best towns upon the way. They next arrived at Jacobs Noll, on the Moder River, and on July 27, arrived upon the fields, having traveled about one thousand miles by stage in seven days and a half. Upon the way the first curious thing that attracted attention was the cape sheep. Its tail was so large that it was supported upon a small wagon to enable it to go about. The sheep would weigh about seventy-five pounds and its tail about thirty-five pounds. The tail of this sheep is used instead of butter for their bread, and is the much more valuable part of the mutton, which is quite sweet. At one place they took breakfast with a Kaffir who lived in a long log house with a cane thatched roof, and built the fire in the middle of the floor with no stove or fire place or chimney. They seemed, to live in keeping with their filthy life. July is a winter month there, and during their journey they had heavy frosts. The sight of the fields was something new. Europeans in their native attire and Kaffirs in their nudeness standing about in groups. With difficulty they obtained lodging for the night. Upon the next morning they struck for the American camp, where they found Mr. Flynn, Mr. Lancaster and a Mr. Seiber, all from Chicago, Illinois, of whom they obtained the use of a small tent, in which eight of the party slept upon a small litter of straw for one week, when they purchased tents for themselves. At that time they procured tools for diamond digging. The business proved unprofitable for two months, after which they met with some success, but what they endured upon the diamond fields was an experience worth years of life in some quiet work. The heat, the dust storm, the fleas and many pests, would test the hearts of the bravest. Smith found some valuable diamonds. Of the party John Osborne died at Pilgrims Rest, in the Transvoal. Mr. Stickney died in May, 1873, on the Bay of Biscay, on his way home. Walsh and Wiley returned to Richmond, Virginia, in 1874. Smith returned in June of 1876, starting on Good Friday in April. Mr. Smith's heart gave thanks to Providence for his health and success through the rough and hard
trials of the diamond fields and set out for his native land, which he now fully realized was the land of corn and wine, but twelve hundred miles distant. The journey he was permitted to make in safety by an overland route to Algoa Bay, from where he took a steamer; stopping at Capetown two days, he sailed for England, via the Island of Madeira; landed in South Hampson, May 21, 1876, and took a railroad train for London, May 31, and set sail from Liverpool for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, arriving in thirteen days and a half by the steamer Lord. Here he remained six days visiting the Centennial Exposition, and on his way back visited Baltimore, Washington and Richmond, Virginia, and landed at Lancaster, from whence he started. After his return he married Mary Jane Bougher, daughter of Peter and Mary Jane (Burke) Bougher; soon after which he went to Texas. After he had been gone four months his wife, whom he had left at her father's, died, May 13, 1877, after seven day's illness, leaving a new born babe which also died six weeks after. From this sad scene in life he returned to Lancaster and worked there until the spring of 1878, when he came to Shawnee and opened in business, and in May, 1879, was married to Alice, daughter of Neil and Ann (Fealty) Coyle, of Perry county, Ohio. To them was born one child, viz.: Nellie Ann. Mr. Smith's mother, who was born in Limerick, Ireland, and his brother and sister are living in Preston, Iowa. SMITH, LEONARD C., editor, Weekly Banner, Shawnee, Ohio; was born December 3, 1861, in Licking county, Ohio; son of Sidney and Annie (Lawrence) Smith. His father was a soldier in the late war, and died in the service, soon after Leonard C. was born. The father and son never saw each other. Young Smith began the printer's trade when thirteen, and at sixteen was editor. He assumed his present charge in January, 1881. The paper in his management has rapidly increased in popularity, and bids fair to be a success. SMOCK, JOHN M., farmer, Shawnee, Ohio; was born October 24, 1829, in Greencastle, Fairfield county, Ohio; son of John and Margaret (Mathews) Smock. Was brought up on a farm, and followed agricultural pursuits up to 1872, at which time he changed his occupation to that of teamster; teaming at Five Mile Furnace, south of Logan, four years; at XX Furnace, Shawnee, three years. Furnished iron ore by contract, from Iron Ore Point, for the Fannie Furnace, one year; furnishing all the ore the furnace used during that time; and was engaged about the furnace until November, 1881, when he took charge of the stables which he has controlled up to this time. Mr. Smock was married May 13, 1858, to Mary V. Russell, daughter of William and Catharine (Wenner) Russell of Uniontown, Muskingum county, Ohio. They are the parents of ten children, viz.: William L., Elmer E., Sarah C., Emma L., Harriet V., Minnie B., Robert Russell, Ella May, John Clarence, and Mary Estella, all living. Mr. Smock served as a carpenter in the army during the late Rebellion, enlisting May, 1863, and remained until October of same year; and upon his return, he volunteered with the O. N. G., and served four months in the Shenendoah Valley under General Siegle, when he was honorably discharged and returned home to his family. SMOOT, JOHN, telegraph operator, Shawnee, Ohio; was born
February 10, 1856, in Fairfield county, Ohio; son of Solomon and Rachel (Pannebecker) Smoot. Mr. Smoot was brought up on a farm, and followed agricultural pursuits until he was twenty-one years of age, when he employed as clerk at Sugar Grove, in the (Columbus & Hocking Valley Railroad office, where he remained about one year, after which they sent him to Lancaster, Ohio; Logan, Ohio; and Nelsonville, Ohio, as clerk. Came to Shawnee next, where he has been clerking and studying telegraphy for six or seven months, and up to this time, and is now engaged as operator for the C. & H. V. R. R. SNYDER, SAMUEL, was born in 1843, in Clayton township. Perry county, Ohio; a son of Peter Snyder. His mother's maiden name was Ellen Dean. He was married in 1865, to Miss Margaret, daughter of Michael Reynolds. The children are: Mary, Ellen, Catharine, Mattie, Dora, Maggie and Stephen A. The brothers of Samuel are: Jacob, William, Joseph, Austin, Alfred, Thomas and Nicholas. In 1881, Samuel Snyder became a successful candidate for county commissioner, and his hotly contested nomination against a field of worthy and formidable competitors, was ratified at the following election, and he is now serving the people of his native county with great devotion to the general welfare. He is a working man, and in partnership with his brothers, carries on three portable saws and one planing mill. The hands with these mills often camp near the saw, do their own cooking, and thus reduce the expenses to the minimum, while the profits are kept up to the maximum, by judicious purchases of timber, by large contracts of lumber to the trade abroad, and the conversion of much suitable material into flooring and other forms for building, for bridges, and so on. The extortionate rates of freight charged by the B. & O. Railroad, is assigned as sufficient reason for removing the planing mill from Somerset to some other point, where competition for freight is likely to insure better terms. SOPHER. J. H., senior partner of the Corning Weekly Times, was born May 12, 1849, near Pennsville, Morgan county, Ohio; son of J. D. and Julia (Newlon) Sopher. Mr. Sopher was removed from his place of nativity when a child, to Rosseau, Morgan county, Ohio, where he remained until manhood, when he was engaged as a clerk in a store for about three or four years, and then engaged in business for himself, selling drugs, medicines, etc., which he continued eighteen months in Rosseau, when he moved his business to Ringgold, where he was appointed post master. At this place he remained eighteen months, and then moved to Junction City, Perry county, Ohio, having previously disposed of his goods, but continued as post master, employing a deputy for nine months, at which time he had the deputy appointed post master. At Junction City he was employed at various kinds of business; where he remained about two years, when he was obliged to leave on account of the ill-health of his family. From there he went to near Portersville, Perry county, Ohio, where he was engaged at various pursuits-publishing a small amateur monthly known as the Comic Visitor, remaining there until November, 1880, then came to this place , where he continued the publication of the paper, and in a short time afterward, made it a semi-monthly, changing the name to the Corning Times, issuing it at fifty cents per year. Again, in June, 1881, he changed the issue
to a weekly, and made it a five-column folio, for one dollar per year; and in December, 1881, took into partnership Mr. George S. Weaver, of Columbus, Ohio, which firm continues as Sopher &Weaver. August 31, 1882, they again enlarged the paper to a seven-column folio, and issued it at one dollar and fifty cents per year. It was the first, and is now the only, paper published in the Sunday Creek valley mining districts, and is neutral in politics. Mr. Sopher was married February 18, 1875, to Miss Mary F., daughter of Lazarus and Lorena (Shepard) Pierce, who lived near Ringgold, Morgan county, Ohio. This union has been blessed by two children, viz.: Allie May,and William H. Mr. Sopher's father was a former resident of Virginia, and afterward of Pennsylvania, but came to Ohio at an early date, and settled in Morgan county, of which he remained a citizen up to the time of his death, which occurred during the late civil war, dying April 22, 1862, at Savannah, Tennessee, a soldier in his country's cause. His mother also came from the eastern States, marrying after she came to Ohio, and is still a venerable resident of Rosseau, Ohio. Mrs. Sopher's parents came to Ohio from Pennsylvania, during the pioneer period, and were married in this State, living near Ringgold, Morgan county, Ohio, up to the time of their deaths. Mr. Pierce died in 1862, and Mrs. Pierce died in 1874. SOUSLIN, ISAAC, farmer; post office, Somerset, Ohio; born in 1838. in Perry county; is a son of Jacob Souslin, and his wife, Sarah E., daughter of Michael Lutz. His grandfather, Martin Souslin, was a resident of Licking county, Ohio, where he deceased. Isaac was married in 1865, to Miss Nancy Stickel. He enlisted in Company.G, Thirty-first Regiment, O. V. I., and served to the end of the war. He was partner in a tan yard for six years, with his brother-in-law, Charles Stickel; farmed rented land two years; and in 1876, he bought in section 35, Hopewell, of William Parks. He has greatly improved this farm, and demonstrated the power of industry and good husbandry in production of good crops. The children are: Charles F., John R., Laura W., Sarah K., Louisa Ellen, Mary Alice, Bertha Olive, William Henry, Daniel Richard, and James A. Garfield Souslin. Mr. and Mrs. Souslin are Lutheran in religion, and add to the comforts of home the light of the newspapers and the contentment of Christians. SPARKS, LEROY B., carpenter, Shawnee, Ohio; was born February 15, 1854, in Bowling Green, Licking county, Ohio; son of William and Elizabeth (Brady) Sparks. Was raised upon a farm to the age of eleven years, when his father moved into Brownsville, same county, and with whom he made his home until he was eighteen years of age, when he came to Shawnee, Ohio. He learned the carpenter trade while at home with his father. Upon coming to Shawnee, he first employed with the New York and Straitsville Coal and Iron Company, as a carpenter, and worked six months; and has been employed at that business at the following places: London, Madison county, Ohio, two months; Upson Coal Company, Shawnee, Ohio, one year; Odd Fellows' Hall, this place, for B. Hollenbach,two months. At this time he returned to his father's home, and remained three months, during which time he was married to Jessie M., daughter of George W. and Alcinda (Fry) Holmes, of Brownsville, Licking county, Ohio. They are the parents of two
children, viz.; Edward P. and Allie Grace. After his marriage he returned to Shawnee, Ohio, where he has remained up to this time, and has been employed at his trade upon contracts for Swartz, three months; assisted in building the M. E. church; for XX Coal and Iron Company, one year; on contracts with John Campbell, two months; at Fannie Furnace, three months; again at XX Furnace, about one year; and with the New York and Straitsville Coal and Iron Company, up to this time. SPENCE, THOMAS, mine boss at No. 9, Rendville, Ohio; was born June 2, 1840, in England. At eight years of age he went into the mines of England, where he worked until 1863, when he came to Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, and remained about one year; then came to Bellaire, Ohio, and was mine boss there about six years. He came to the Hocking coal district about 1872, and to his present place in 1879. Mr. Spence was married June 19, 1858, to Miss Margaret, daughter of Robert and Anne (Maughan) Bickerton, of England. They adopted a child, Catharine, married to Mathew Robson, and Elizabeth and Anne. Mr. Spence has had an extensive experience in mining, and thoroughly understands the business. SPENCER, HENRY W., farmer, Reading township, post office Somerset; son of William C., and grandson of William Spencer, who was born in 1772, and came to Perry county in 1805, his wife being Martha Love, a sister of Thompson Love's mother, and of Irish descent. Henry's grandfather died in his eighty-eighth year, and his grandmother nine years prior to this event. His father was born on the Spencer homestead in 1808, and is yet living, while his mother died therein her sixty-eighth year. Her maiden name was Weirick. Her sons were Horace, shot to death by one Harvey in an altercation in Omaha; John, who resides in Dayton, Ohio; and Harry, who resides upon the homestead of his ancestry, near Somerset. Her daughters were Louisa Cain, Ellen Overmeyer, Martha Law, and Ann Shirley, all deceased, leaving Henry and John the only survivors. The family is of Old School Baptist belief, and Whig, or Republican in politics. Henry was in Company E, Seventeenth Ohio, and Company I, One Hundred and Fourteenth Ohio, and served as a soldier to the end of the late war. He was united in marriage May l, 1866, to Miss Emma Keys, a daughter of the late Thomas and Elizabeth Keys, whose maiden name was Henderson. The family at present comprises Father Spencer, his granddaughter, Henrietta Overmeyer, Miss Belle, the sister of Mrs. Henry Spencer, and four children, viz.: Charles, May, Paul and Nellie. The Spencer homestead, under the proprietorship of Henry, its present chief, maintains its ancient reputation for social hospitality and intelligence. It has fallen to his lot to live where his grandparents died, where his father was born, where his mother bade him a last farewell, and where, also, three of his sisters returned to receive paternal care in their last sickness. It was his uncle, Eli Spencer, who represented Perry and Muskingum in the Senate of Ohio, and the public has indicated its partiality towards Henry also. In the fall of 1880 he was elected land appraiser in Reading township by fifty majority, when the party of his worthy opponent carried the township by one hundred and forty majority for Hancock.
SPIECE, PHILIP, born in Prussia, came to America when young and settled in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, and there married Susannah Merchant. His sons, Peter and David, were born in Pennsyl- vania, and Adam in Reading township; the latter married Miss Odlin, and has one son living in Dayton. Philip came to Ohio in 1809, and settled where David now lives. Was of the Reformed church, and a farmer. SPIECE, DAVID, born January 3, 1807, second son of Philip, who, with his son Peter, bought the homestead and who then bought Peter's share. Married, for his first wife, Mary M. Houtz, by whom he had the following living children: Susan, wife of Abner Rarick, a farmer, five children; Daniel, farmer, one son and two daughters; Solomon, carpenter, bachelor, Dayton, Ohio; Lydia, wife of John Price, farmer, Paulding county, Ohio; George, married to Isabel Bowman, farmer and miller, has four sons and one daughter, Paulding county, Ohio; Sarah, single, at home; Peter, married to Cecelia Mitchell, farmer, two sons and two daughters, Fairfield county. David, married a second wife, Katharine (Voght) Davis in 1848, by which union he had four children; those living are Jane C., Almedea S., wife of Henry Baker, who has one son and three daughters, farmer, Reading township; John W., teacher, farmer, single. His taxes, $40 per year now, have been as high as $100 during the war. He kept wood fires exclusively to within a few years; has used tobacco fifty years; drinks from a hard water spring, and has lived on the same place for seventy-three years, and has voted at the same poll for fifty-three years, the Democratic ticket up to 1854, and the Republican ticket since then. He is a member of the Methodist Church, and one of the few early settlers. SPIRER, DANIEL, day laborer, Shawnee, Ohio, was born February 27, 1849, in Fairfield county, Ohio, son of Ambrose and Theresa Spirer. Mr. Spirer was brought up on a farm and followed agricultural pursuits until he was twenty-one years of age, at which time he engaged in huckstering and assisting in a store for two years, and then moved to Shawnee in 1873, where he has been engaged in trimming coal upon railroad, digging ore, and hotel business up to this time. He now owns eight and one quarter acres of land with a substantial frame dwelling upon it, just out of corporation limits of Shawnee. Was married July 20, 1870, to Regena, daughter of Adam and Frances (Cable) Bock, of Fairfield county, Ohio. They are the parents of six children, viz.: Theresa Ann, Adam, Cecily, Joseph, William, and Margaret, all living at home. SPRINGER, EZEKIAH, farmer, Saltlick township, post office. Hemlock, Ohio, son of Daniel and Jane (Jones) Springer, was born March 29, 1823, in Harrison county. Ohio, Mr. Springer was raised a farmer, and has followed agricultural pursuits to the present time. Lived in his native county until he was thirteen years of age, when, with his father, he came to the farm of one hundred and sixty acres, upon which he now resides. His father entered this land, paying $1.25 per acre. He built his cabin, cleared the farm, and lived upon it until 1846, when he sold it to his sons Ezekiah and Rezin. Mr. E. Springer has added twenty acres to his eighty acres and much improved the farm, having erected a fine farm residence. He also assisted in
cutting the logs and building the first cabin upon the farm. Mr. Springer has been deacon of the Christian or Disciple Church about twenty-five years. Was married October 3, 1853, to Catharine, daughter of John and Rebecca (Avery) Condon, of Salt Lick township, this county. They are the parents often children, viz.: Benjamin F., Mary, William, Rebecca, John, Alice, Lewis, Granville, Lillie and Annie. SPRINGER, BENJAMIN F., farmer, Saltlick township, post office, Hemlock, Ohio, was born in this township; son of Ezekiah and Elizabeth (Condon) Springer. Was brought up on a farm, and has followed agricultural pursuits to the present time. When twenty-one years of age, he went to Union county, Ohio, and worked upon a farm three years, when he returned home and was married, September 1, 1877, to Almira J., daughter of Simeon and Elizabeth J. (Storer) Sanders, of what is now Coal township. They are the parents of two children, viz.: Alton J., and Effie B. In about one year after his marriage he moved to Clark county, Iowa, where he remained about three years and six months, when he returned and located on his present farm near Hemlock, Ohio. STALLSMITH, JOHN S., manufacturer of woolen goods. Hemlock Ohio; born October 19, 1833, in Harrison county, son of George and Elizabeth (Springer) Stallsmith. Mr. Stallsmith was brought up on a farm and followed farming until he was twenty-three or twenty-four years of age, when he began working at the carpenter trade, which he followed for about four years. He then enlisted in the army, in 1861, for three years, or during the war, and served up to the holidays of 1863, when he veteranized for three years, or during the war, and served up to August, 1865, when he was discharged by reason of the close of the war. Mr. Stallsmith enlisted as a drummer and refused two proffered promotions to First and Second Lieutenant, as it would have taken him from his company, but was discharged as First Sergeant. He served in Company A, Thirty-first Regiment, O. V. I., in the Army of the Cumberland, First Division, Fourteenth Army Corps and was in the following engagements: Mill Springs, Kentucky, January 19, 1862; Siege of Corinth, Mississippi, May, 1862; Perryville, Kentucky, October 8, 1862; Shepperdsville, Kentucky, 1862; Cages Ford, Tennessee, November 22, 1862; Stone River, December 30, 1882 to January 2, 1863; Hoover's Gap, June 26, 1863; Tullahoma, June 30, 1863; Chickamauga, Sept. 19 and 20, 1863; Mission Ridge, Tennessee, November 25, 1863; Resaca, Georgia, May 14, 1864; Tunnel Hill, Georgia, May 8, 1864; Dalton, Georgia, May 12, 1864; Dallas Gap, Georgia, May 27, 1864; Pine Mountain, Georgia, June 19, 1864; Kennesaw Mountains, Georgia, June 24, 1864; Chatahoochie River, Ga., July 5, 1864; Peachtree Creek, Georgia, July 20, 1864; Atlanta, Ga., September 2, 1864; Jonesboro, Georgia, September 1, 1864; Nashville; Savannah; Averysboro, North Carolina, March 16, 1865; Bentonville, North Carolina, March 19, 1865; and on Sherman's March to The Sea. Upon returning home he purchased a store in Millersville, which he owned about six months, when he sold the store and engaged in running a saw-mill for about six years, after which he went into the woolen manufactory which he continued up to 1881, when he quit but again
resumed, and was the cause of Hemlock being built, by the establishment of the woolen mill. He is now Justice of the Peace of Saltlick township, and has served several terms as township trustee, and as school director. Mr. Stallsmith was married December 29, 1865, to Hannah, daughter of James and Eliza (Veil) Ball, of Coal township. They are the parents of four children, viz.: Eva May, Eliza Helena, William Hermon and Cora Jane. By his first wife he had three children, viz.: Jacob Geo., John W. and Mary Elizabeth. STALTER, JOSEPH, farmer, post office New Lexington, Clayton township. Perry county, Ohio; born in this county in 1848; son of John and Mary (Stakely) Stalter; the former died in 1880. Mr. Stalter was married, in 1869, to Miss Mary Snider, daughter of Peter and Ellen (Dean) Snider. They are the parents of seven children, viz.: John P., Lucy, deceased; William P., Mary E., Gertrude, Thomas V. and Jessie, deceased. STEVENSON, JAMES, engineer, Rendville, Ohio; was born August 19, 1838, in Clarion county, Pennsylvania; son of Samuel and Susan (Kissinger) Stevenson. When a child his parents moved to Lawrence county, Pennsylvania, where he made his home until he became a man, after which he made his home in Ohio and Pennsylvania. He came to his present residence in 1879. Mr. Stevenson was married July 7, 1860, to Miss Eva E., daughter of David and Catharine Kennedy, of Lawrence county, Pennsylvania. They are the parents of two children, viz.: George M., married to Anne I. George, of Perry county, Ohio, and Laura, who died in infancy. STEWART, JOHN, born in 1836, in county Donegal, Ireland; came to America in 1852; revisited Ireland, England, the isle of Man and Scotland in 1865. His marriage is referred to in the Hammond biography. His brothers are James, George, Hugh, Thomas and Gilbreth. His sisters are Ann, Jane, Mary and Lucy, all in Ireland. His mother's maiden name was Nancy Meldrem. After learning the blacksmith trade, and visiting different parts of the United States, and meeting with some thrilling adventures on the frontier, Mr. Stewart married and settled on the Hammond homestead, to which his industry and thrift have added many acres and much improvement. He ranks among the foremost farmers in enterprise and intelligence, and is the founder of a new American house of Stewart. STEWART, JAMES, miner, New Straitsville; he was born in Tyrone county, Ireland, September 16, 1842; is a son of Hugh and Jane Stewart, natives of Ireland. He came to America in 1859, and settled in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, where he remained until 1861; he then came to Athens county, Ohio. In 1864, he married Mary Duffey, whose parents were natives of Ireland. Mr. Stewart came to New Straitsville in 1871, and began mining coal for the Straitsville Mining Company, by whom he is yet employed. He has, by his industry, accumulated the home where he now resides. STICKEL, CHARLES, son of Daniel M. Stickel, who was born in Hesse Cassell, Germany in 1798, and died in Somerset, O., in 1861, at the age of sixty-three years; his wife was Katharine Staffinger. They brought with them three children to the State of Virginia, in 1833, where they remained about six years. They came to Somerset in 1839. Their
sons are John, in Van Wert, Ohio; Daniel and Charles in Somerset, Ohio. The daughters are Emily Parkeson, post office Somerset; Catharie Parkeson, of Newark; Maria, of Somerset; Mary Fromm, of Canal Winchester; Nancy Souslin, near Somerset. Charles Stickel was married to Phidelia J. Jones, daughter of Jehu B. Jones. He finished work as an apprentice at the tanning trade in 1867, and now owns the residence and tannery of his preceptor. He volunteered in Company G, Thirty-first Regiment, O.V.I., Captain Jackson in 1861; was wounded November 25, 1863, at Mission Ridge; re-enlisted and was honorably discharged July 23, 1865. He has added the Forquair, to the Poorman estate and tannery, works three hands, and his leather is sought for at home and abroad. He is Lutheran in religion, Republican in politics, arid his career illustrates the rewards of patriotism, sobriety, industry and plodding perseverance. His mother is yet living at the age of eighty-one, to which advance period of life she has arrived without the aid of snuff or tobacco. STILLMAN, T. SPENCER, born March 26, 1823, in Weathersfield, Hartford county, Connecticut; son of Deacon Ebenezer Stillman, and the youngest of twelve children. His mother's maiden name was Miss Rhoda Francis, said to be the most handsome woman in her vicinity. The children are Frank, of Hamilton, New York; Ebenezer, deceased; John, who died in Mobile, and whose sons were in the Rebel service; Henry, Hartford, Connecticut; Lewis, Newark, New Jersey; Thomas Spencer, of Somerset; Mary, widow of John Doubleday, and mother of Henry S. Doubleday, deceased, of Somerset; Fanny, widow of Frederick S. Moors, of the United States Navy; Eliza, died at thirty-two years of age; Anna, still living; Rhoda, widow of C. W. Badger, Newark, New Jersey, and Caroline, died in infancy. T. Spencer Stillman was married November 14, 1850, to Mrs. Swayzie, a young and beautiful widow, whose maiden name was Miss Sylvia Dawes, cousin of Senator Dawes, of Massachusetts. At first his father was a shoemaker, but soon became owner of several tracts of those rich and beautiful lands bordering on the Connecticut River, near Weathersfield. Thomas was educated as a dry goods clerk, became a clerk of a steamer, plying between Hartford and New York, then a dry goods merchant on his own account in Hartford, thence removed his store to Hamburg, South Carolina, where he was during the Mexican War,becoming acquainted there with Brooks and other celebrities of that State; sold out in 1848 and embarked in the produce trade in Springfield, Massachusetts, where he was captivated by the charms of his present wife, then became a farmer near Weathersfield, which business he followed for three years, and then March 19, 1853, came to Somerset to join W. S. French, a cousin, in the sub-contracts on the old Scioto and Hocking Valley Ry., under the chief contractors, Seymore, More & Company, who "pegged out," as Tom says in his curt reference to those times, "and left me $9,000 short of money paid out of my private means for labor, but no man can say I owe him a dollar for work done on the railroad." He has judgments in Licking and Perry Courts vs Seymore, More & Co., amounting to over $50,000, but in those days a laborer had no lien on the road his labor and his money constructed. Mr. Stillman, and his amiable wife, have not been blessed with children, but their hearts and hands are
open to the unfortunate, and though their ship has met with rude buffetings on the ocean of life they are comfortably moored in its afternoon, and Mr. Stillman as notary and pension agent, keeps his bank account healthy. STITH, JOHN, farmer, post office Rushville; born in 1813; is the eldest son of the late Rev. Elder Jesse Stith, of the Baptist Church, and his wife, Polly Graham. The Rev. Elder was born in North Carolina, and was only in his nineteenth year when his son John was born, on a farm bordering on the Reservoir in Walnut township. Elder Stith and his wife became Baptists when quite young, and their devotion to the church often impelled them to travel on foot from Walnut township to the Pleasant Run Church, and carry their children, then too small to be left at home. Their sons were John, Henry, James, Jesse and William Baker Stith; the daughters were Amy Trovinger, now a widow, and Nancy Grey, now dead. The sons are all living except Jesse, who volunteered in the army and fell a sacrifice on the bloody field of the Wilderness while a member of the One Hundred and Twenty-sixth Regiment, and the Sixth Corps, whose gallantry won unfading laurels. John was married to Delilah, daughter of the venerable Isaac Hite, September 6, 1835. Her mother was Magdalena, daughter of John and sister of the late Henry Bretz, who were of the early settlers, and distinguished not only for their thrift, but for their piety and respectability in Fairfield county. After six years residence on the "Refugee," Etna township, Licking county, John purchased the famous farm where he and his dutiful wife now reside, in Richland, Fairfield county, since 1842. In 1880 their house took fire and burned to the ground, the insurance covering only a part of the loss. In a few days not less than twenty teams were in line from Pleasantville loaded with material for the grand country structure, which now adorns the premises, and these were only twenty testimonials of sympathy for a deserving neighbor and an honest man. Their children are Mary, wife of Joseph Puffner, post office Rushville; Isaac, who was last heard from in California, whither he went with his uncle Levi Hite: Amy, wife of Levi Saum, post office Rushville; Katharine, single; Levi, married to Katharine Nagle, Lancaster; William Allen, married to Amanda Louis; Lizzie, single, residing with her aunt, Levina Hite; Phebe, wife of David Henderson, post office Salem; John, married to Ella Spohn; Nancy, single; Levina, wife of John Holliday, Bushe's Station; Jonas, single; Jesse, married to Phebe Ann Stoltz, Delphos, and Ruth, wife of William Bull, of Hickman's Mills, Jackson county, Missouri---fourteen in all---the youngest lacking but one year of being of age. This interesting family is not only remarkable for its size, but also for its robust health, not one of whom ever doubted their capacity to paddle his, or her, own canoe. Grandfather Stith began to preach before he could read his text, but he soon not only could read, but rose to the front rank as a speaker in his church, while his sons and daughters all grew to be men and women, noted for their success in life and for the generous hospitality, which kindles happiness around the old Baptist hearthstone. STOBBS, CATHBERT, miner, New Straitsville; was born in New Castle, North England, January 12, 1847; is a son of Ralph and Catharine (Clark) Stobbs, natives of England. At the age of sixteen he
came to America. He was married at Pomeroy, Ohio, November 15, 1867, to Mary, daughter of Hughey and Esther Williams, natives of Wales. They are now the parents of six children, two of whom were born in Pomeroy, and four in New Straitsville. STOLTZ, LEWIS, JR., was born in 1843, in Jackson township, a few months after the death of his father, Lewis Stoltz, Sr. He had five brothers and three sisters. Lewis went into the Forty-sixth Regiment, Company F, Captain Henry H. Giesy. Three of his brothers joined the One Hundred and Fourteenth Regiment, Company G, Captain Ephraim Brown, two of whom lost their lives. He was wounded on the same day and at the same battle where General McPherson fell. He and his wife, who was Miss Margaret Petty, were married November 24, 1867, and have succeeded to the ownership of the Petty homestead, where she was born, and where she grew to womanhood; and where, surrounded by the associations of childhood, and blessed with a kind husband, their beautiful home maintains the generous welcome to its friends, which was so often met there in days of Father Petty. STONEBURNER, JOSIAH, farmer; post office, Crooksville; was born in Muskingum county in 1820. Settled in Perry county in 1860. Son of Jacob and Margaret (Hartsell) Stoneburner. The former died in Muskingum county in 1831, the latter in Morgan county in 1845. Mr. Stoneburner's parents emigrated from Maryland in a very early day, and settled in Clayton township, Muskingum county, Ohio. Mr. Stoneburner was one of a family of eleven children, six of whom are still living. He was married in 1838, to Miss Sarah A. Williams. They are the parents of ten children, viz.: N. H.. Josiah, deceased; Margaret A., deceased; Mary J., deceased; John W., Augustus, Manda C., deceased; Sarah A., Mary C., deceased; Harvey E. Those living are all married and living in this county. Mr. Stoneburner had three sons in the late war. Josiah enlisted in 1861, in Company A, Sixty-second Regiment, O. V. I., Captain Edwards. He participated in the following engagements: Winchester, Virginia; Port Republic, Harrison's Landing, Black Water, Morris Island, Fort Wagner, Petersburg, Virginia; Signal Hill, Deep Run, Chapman's, Virginia, and Darby, Virginia. John W. enlisted in 1864, in Company H, Thirty- first Regiment. N. H. was in Company H, One Hundred and Sixtieth Regiment. Mrs. Stoneburner's grandfather was in the Revolutionary War. STONEBURNER, N. H., farmer and potter; post office, Crooksville; born in Muskingum county, Ohio, in 1839. Came to Perry county in 1859. Son of Josiah and Sarah A. (Williams) Stoneburner. Mr. Stoneburner has been in the pottery business about twenty years. Married in 1860, to Miss Clarissa A. Brown, daughter of B. S. Brown. They are the parents of three children, viz.: John F., Mary and Ada. Mr. Stoneburner enlisted in the war in 1864, Company H, One Hundred and Sixtieth Regiment. He participated in the following engagements: Winchester, Virginia, Martinsburgh and Old Town. Discharged at Zanesville. STORER, JAMES L., M. D., Corning, Ohio; was born April 18, 1830, in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania. Son of Ezekiel and Sarah (Case) Storer. At the early age of two years, James L. Storer was
brought to Ohio by his parents, who settled and lived in Muskingum county, on a farm, where he was reared to the age of fifteen years, when he entered the Muskingum County College, situate at Concord, Muskingum county, Ohio; and in the fall of 1851, graduated at that institution. Immediately after graduating, he began teaching school, which he continued for a number of years, mainly in Kentucky and Ohio. In about two years after graduating, he received the degree of A. M. from his Alma Mater. In 1855 or 1856, he began the study of medicine, and in 1858, he began the practice of medicine, which he continued until the breaking out of the late war, when he was engaged in. the army until the close of the war, at which time he again took up the practice of medicine in his former field of practice, at Millertown, Perry county, Ohio, where he has continued up to this time. Dr. Storer was married June 8, 1854, to Miss Esther, daughter of George B. and Mary Jane (Frazier) Passmore, of Perry county, Ohio. They are the parents of three children, viz.: Edgar A., Jesse and Guy. All at home. STROUSE, S. F., boot and shoemaker. Junction City, Perry county, Ohio. Son of John and Leah (Minich) Strouse; born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, September 27, 1850; left there when about eight or nine years of age, and went to Pickaway county, then went to Iowa; lived there five years, then came back to Pickaway; went to his trade when about fourteen. Set up shop for himself in 1869, in Straitsville, this county; came to Junction City in the fall of 1872, where he now does business. Was married to Miss Rosa, daughter of William and Catharine (Darsham) Haine, in 1874. Are the parents of three children, viz.: Lola May, Alice L. G., Vernon F. Mr. Strouse's people are of German descent. SULLIVAN, FRANK, wagon maker, Shawnee, Ohio; was born May 22, 1850, in Rushville, Fairfield county, Ohio; son of John and Hester (Williams) Sullivan. Mr. Sullivan was raised a farmer, and has lived in the following places, viz.: McConnelsville, Morgan county, Ohio, one year; Amesville, Athens county, Ohio, in all and at different times, about ten years; eighteen months, while engaged on portable saw mill; fourteen months in hotel business; two years in dry goods business, and about five years in wagon making business, after he left his father's home; on a farm near Hartleysville, Putnam county, Ohio, one year; Nelsonville, short time; in Missouri short time, in hotel business; one winter in Ames township, Athens county, Ohio, where his father packed tobacco; thence to Buffalo, Putnam county, Ohio, two years, where he learned his trade; after which he went to his father's farm, living one year; and then, as above stated, in Amesville five years; in Maxville, two years at his trade, when he came to Shawnee, Ohio, one year ago, and has engaged at wagon making up to this time. Was married September 23, 1874, to Eva, daughter of James and Charlotte (Blackburn) Evener, of Athens County, Ohio. They are the parents of four children, viz.: Reason, deceased; Austin, deceased; Sylvia, deceased; and Blanche, the only one living. SWARTZ, GEORGE W., grocer; postoffice, Thornville, Ohio; born 1828, in Reading township, Perry county, Ohio; a son of John Swartz, whose wife's maiden name was Susan Jordan, both natives of Rockingham
county, Virginia. One brother, John, lived in Jacksontown, Ohio. Another; David, resides in Wyandot county, Ohio; post office, Fowler's Station. A sister, now Mrs. Sarah, wife of John Shook, post office, Little Sandusky, Ohio, was first the wife of E. Bowers, of the One Hundred and Twenty-sixth O. V. I., Sixth Army Corps, who was lost in service. Father Swartz died in his sixty-third year, but Mother Swartz is still living, near the age of seventy, with her daughter, Mrs. Shook. George W. Swartz first married Matilda, daughter of William Clumb, in 1849. By this marriage he became the father of Margaret, wife of Jefferson Cover, of Thorn, and Sarah J., wife of John Clark, Junction City, Ohio, a son of Allen Clark, near there; a third daughter is Miss Susan, at home. After the death of his first wife, he was married to Miss Josephine Highland, of Mercer county, Ohio, and by this marriage there is one son, Morris Swartz. About six years after his last marriage, he became blind, in the fall of 1867. His service in the army had much to do with his misfortune. He was finally placed on the pension rolls, and in 1868, he, with only $2.20 in cash, began business in Thornport, as a grocer and retailer of liquors, and has provided himself with a neat home, and lives in comfort. His head is twenty-four inches; weight, two hundred and twenty pounds; and height, five feet nine inches in stockings. He is a grandson of Phenus Swartz, a native of Germany, and inherits a conk shell that called to dinner prior to the Revolution. This grandfather served this country in the Revolution, and died near Wooster, Ohio, thirty-five or forty years since. His maternal grandfather, Adam Jordan, was also a fifer in the Revolutionary War, and drew pension; his widow drew afterwards, and after her marriage to a second husband. An uncle, Silas Swartz, served in the Mexican War, from the State of Illinois. An uncle, Andrew Swartz, of Stark, Illinois, is still living. SWEENY, JOHN, butcher, Shawnee, Ohio; was born July 22, 1841, in Monroe township; son of Thomas and Bridget (McCabe) Sweeny, natives of Ireland. John was brought up on a farm, where he remained until twenty-two years of age. He traveled one year on the Muskingum River. In 1866 he engaged in merchandising in Monroe township, where he remained five years. Came to this place in 1873, and worked two years at the carpenter's trade, then engaged in his present business. Mr. Sweeny was married February 5, 1867, to Miss Mary, daughter of Bernard and Julia (Conway) O'Farrell. They are the parents of five children, viz.: Julia Anne, Bridget Catharine, Rose Lily, Mary Ellen and Theresa. Mr. Sweeny is doing a good business. SWINEHART, PETER, farmer, was born in 1810, in section nineteen, Hopewell township; has been Justice of the Peace twenty-one years, county commissioner six years; has held every office in his township except constable, and has been a resident of this township for seventy- two consecutive years. His great grandfather and mother, tradition affirms, crossed the ocean from Germany with a large family, and being able to pay only the fare of the younger and more helpless of their children, the older ones were hired to service in America to settle the bill. Whether John, the grandfather of Peter Swinehart, was among the last named, is not known, but that he lived in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, and there reared a respectable family, among
whom was his son John, the father of Peter, is certain. Leaving all his relatives in Pennsylvania, John Swinehart and his wife emigrated to Perry county in 1807. A few years after, John's father paid him a visit, perhaps in 1810, the year Peter was born, and returned the same year to Pennsylvania. He must have carried back good news of his son John, for in 1814 two sisters of John, the wives of John Linn and Henry Coble, escorted hither by their mother, settled in Perry county. After she had visited her son John, and his wife, and kissed his children, born in the forest home, she bade good bye to her two daughters and to her son John, mounted one of the horses that had pulled the wagon from Pennsylvania, and rode home. She was a small sized, sprightly woman, of fearless heart. At the same time, or at least the same year, there came Andrew Swinehart, son of him who crossed the ocean, uncle of John, and great uncle of John's son Peter. This ancient Andrew, who either came with his father over the sea, or was soon after born in Pennsylvania, settled as a carpenter and joiner in Somerset, where he died. This Andrew was the father of the late venerable Samuel Swinehart, who died on his farm near Somerset, and Jacob, who died at the toll-gate east of Somerset, and of Daniel and Peter Swinehart, who lived in Circleville, Ohio, and of George, the father of that Samuel who now resides in section thirty-two, Hopewell. When Peter was only a few years of age, his father, John Swinehart, moved from section nineteen to section nine, Hopewell, and before his cabin was chunked and daubed, and quilts were hung on the wall for protection, and while his wife expected soon to be confined in childbed, he was drafted into the army, reported at Franklinton, and failing to get leave of absence, crossed the Scioto, broke through the ice, and after a tedious and perilous journey through the woods, reached home, arranged for the comfort of his family, returned to military duty, was arraigned for desertion and bailed by Jacob Anspach, afterwards the father-in-law of Peter, and served until honorably discharged. The brothers of Peter are Jacob, Little Sandusky, Ohio; Jonathan, Hen- derson county, Illinois; Samuel, deceased in Hopewell township; Daniel, deceased in Fulton county, Indiana; George, Black Swamp, Sandusky county, Ohio; Andrew, Bloomdale, Wood county, Ohio; and his sisters are Sally, deceased wife of George Anspach, Thorn township; Elizabeth, deceased wife of Jacob Cooperider, Thorn township; Katharine, deceased wife of Jerome Stalter, deceased; and Juda, wife of Jacob Lawrence, post office, Upper Sandusky, Ohio. Peter Swinehart was married to Miss Sophia Anspach in 1834. She died in 1881, in the sixty-seventh year of her life, and the forty-seventh of her marriage. Their children and post offices are Simon P., Glenford, married to Elizabeth Shelley; John, Arcola, Illinois, married to Susan Bowman; George Henry, Linville, Ohio, married to Martha Orr; Elizabeth, wife of Lewis Cooperider, Glenford; Ann Sophia, wife of Emanuel Cooperider, Glenford; Magdalena, wife of Oliver Cooperider, Glenford; Margaret, wife of George H. Bowers, Gratiot, Ohio; Nancy C., wife of George Hupp, Brownsville, Ohio; Levina Emeline, wife of Joseph H. Orr, Glenford, and Melzena Alice Swinehart. Peter relates that an uncle, sometime about the year 1812, entered a half section of land, made the required down payment; and failing to meet the back
payments, the land reverted to the government. Subsequently the certificates held for such lands were made receivable by act of Congress for their face value at any land office of the United States. In 1830 Peter applied one certificate to eighty acres of land ten miles west of Fremont, at the Tiffin, Ohio, land office, for himself, and did the same for his father. Fourteen years later he sold his eighty for $300, and a year later half of it sold for $400, and now the whole eighty is estimated to be cheap at $4,000. Peter Swineheart weighs one hundred and seventy-five pounds, is about five feet ten inches in height, and his head measures twenty-three and one-half inches in circumference. He has furnished an interesting assortment of facts relating to early days in Perry county, which appear in the general history of Hopewell township. SWINGLE, L. B., dental surgeon, corner of Main street, New Lexington, Ohio. Dr. S. was born January 29, 1842, in Deavertown, Morgan county, Ohio, son of Nicholas J., and Mary M. (Leffler) Swingle. Dr. Swingle began the practice of his profession in the fall of 1867, in his native town. In May, 1873, he established his office in this place where he has built up a good practice. The Dr. was married June 21, 1881, to Miss Annie, daughter of Thomas and Ellen (Grimes) Bearer.